Lillis Named to Wade Trophy Watch List

Nov. 7, 2003

Purchase your Iowa Women’s Basketball tickets online

Iowa senior forward Jennie Lillis is one of 35 players named to the 2004 State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List. This prestigious award is presented to the nation’s top player.

Lillis, who is a three-time captain, was an all-Big Ten first team selection last year by the media and a second team choice by the media her sophomore season. Lillis was also named to the pre-season all-Big Ten squad for the second straight season. The native of Urbandale, IA, enters her final season with the Hawkeyes ranked ninth in career scoring (1,299) and 10th in career rebounds (647).

Lillis scored the game-winning basket, at the buzzer, giving Iowa a thrilling 90-89 win over Athletes in Action last night.

Garnered as “The Mother of Modern Women’s Collegiate Basketball,” Lily Margaret Wade pioneered an unprecedented dynasty in women’s basketball, which led to the growth and popularity of the sport during the 1970s.

Highlighting the 2004 list is last year’s recipient, Connecticut senior Diana Taurasi. Lillis is one of five Big Ten players named to the list. Other league players include Penn State senior Kelly Mazzante, Purdue senior Shereka Wright, Minnesota senior Lindsay Whalen and junior Janel McCarville.

Iowa hosts reigning Division II champion South Dakota State in its final exhibition game November 13. Tip-off is slated for 7:05 p.m. in Carver-Hawkeye Arena.