Hawkeyes Open Big Ten Tournament Against Michigan State

2004 Big Ten Tournament Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Feb. 29, 2004

IOWA CITY, IA – The Iowa women’s basketball team is the No. 4 seed at the 2004 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament and will open tournament action against No. 5 Michigan State on Friday at approximately 1:20 p.m. (CST) in the Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, IN.

Tickets are available for the 2004 Big Ten Women’s Tournament in Indianapolis, IN. An all-session (10 games) ticket costs $55. Fans interested in sitting in the Iowa section can call the UI Ticket Office at 1-800-IA-HAWKS. Single-session tickets range from $10-$14 and can be purchased at all Ticketmaster outlets, including the Conseco Fieldhouse box office and www.ticketmaster.com.

The Hawkeyes recorded a convincing 89-64 victory at Illinois today to finish the regular season with a 16-11 overall record and 10-6 mark in conference play. After results of today’s action around the league, Iowa finished in a fourth place tie with Michigan State (20-7, 10-6). The Hawkeyes won the tiebreaker over the Spartans due to their, 78-67, win over Michigan State in East Lansing, MI, on Feb. 1. Michigan State escaped with a 60-51 overtime triumph at Indiana today to remain tied with Iowa for fourth place.

Friday’s match-up against Michigan State will mark the first time the Hawkeyes and Spartans will play a Big Ten Tournament game against each other. The only other conference team Iowa has not played in the conference tournament is Michigan.

Penn State (23-4, 15-1) earned the tournament top seed after defeating Purdue, 69-60, today in State College, PA. The Boilermakers (24-3, 14-2) are the No. 2 seed, while Ohio State (19-8, 11-5) earned the No. 3 seed. The first five seeds earn first round byes. The first round of the tournament begins Thursday with No. 8 Wisconsin (10-16, 4-12) taking on No. 9 Indiana (11-16, 4-12), followed by No. 7 Michigan (13-16, 6-10) battling No. 10 Illinois (10-17, 4-12) and No. 6 Minnesota (20-7, 9-7) facing No. 11 Northwestern (8-19, 1-15).

Fox Sports Chicago will televise all Big Ten Tournament games, with the exception of the championship game, which will be shown on ESPN2.

This marks the third time Iowa will be the No. 4 seed in the Big Ten Tournament. The Hawkeyes were the fourth seed in the 1997 and 2002 tournaments. Iowa won its first Big Ten Tournament in 1997 notching victories over Northwestern (73-63), Indiana (87-53) and Illinois (63-56). The Hawkeyes lost to Indiana (78-76) in overtime in 2002.

Iowa holds an 11-8 record in conference tournament contests. Last year, the Hawkeyes were the No. 7 seed and bounced No. 10 Northwestern (70-58) in the first round and No. 2 Minnesota (80-77) in the quarterfinals before falling to No. 3 Purdue (87-57) in the semifinals.