Ferentz Finalist For Coach of the Year

Dec. 3, 2004

The FWAA All-America Committee has arrived at a list of six finalists for the association’s Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. And Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz has made the list for the second time in three years. The other finalists are: UTEP’s Mike Price, Utah’s Urban Meyer, USC’s Pete Carroll, Auburn’s Tommy Tuberville and Cal’s Jeff Tedford.

The six coaches’ names will appear on a ballot, which will go out to all FWAA members via e-mail in the next few days. FWAA members’ final vote will be revealed in late December or early January during a nationally televised football game.

The FWAA has honored a major-college coach with its Coach of the Year Award since 1957. Among the six finalists, there is only one previous winner, Mike Price in 1997 when he was head coach at Washington State. Ferentz was named Associated Press and Walter Camp Coach of the Year in 2002.

The FWAA Coaching Award is named after Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years . He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach. The winner of the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award will be honored at his campus before a football game next fall.