Two Hawkeyes Named to National Academic Squad

Feb. 18, 2005

IOWA CITY – Two members of the University of Iowa field hockey team were named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division I National Academic Squad today. Senior Tammy Leister and sophomore Kelly Slattery each earned the honor for the second-consecutive year.

“As a coaching staff, we are extremely proud of Tammy and Kelly,” Iowa Head Coach Tracey Griesbaum said. “Both are hard workers that go a long way in helping us achieve our team goals on the field and in the classroom.”

The Hawkeyes were 13-8 last season, won a share of the Big Ten Championship and advanced to the NCAA Tournament.