Hawkeyes Travel to Minneapolis

Feb. 21, 2005

THIS WEEK — The Iowa men’s swimming team will compete at the Big Ten Championships Thursday thru Saturday in Minneapolis, MN. All events will be held at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center. All-session tickets are $30 for adults and $20 for students. Single-session prelim tickets are $5 for adults and $3 for students. Single-session finals tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for students.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS — Event prelims begin at 11 a.m. each day, followed by diving trials. Finals for both swimming and diving will begin at 6 p.m. All swimming events will be in yards and all diving events will be in meters. The schedule of events:

Thursday, February 24
200 Free Relay (Finals Only)
500 Free
200 IM
50 Free
1-Meter Diving
400 Medley Relay (Finals Only)

Friday, February 25
200 Medley Relay (Finals Only)
400 IM
100 Fly
200 Free
100 Breast
100 Back
3-Meter Diving
800 Free Relay

Saturday, February 26
200 Back
100 Free
200 Breast
200 Fly
Platform Diving
1,650 Free*
400 Free Relay

*Timed Finals, Top 8 Swim At Night

2004 BIG TEN REVIEW — The Hawkeyes finished ninth at the 2004 Big Ten Championships, scoring 204 points. Minnesota won the team title. Junior Timo Klami led the Hawkeyes, placing second on three-meter diving, third on one-meter diving and sixth on the platform. He earned second team all-Big Ten honors for his performances. Hawkeye freshmam Mariusz Muras placed fifth in the 200 fly, while freshman Tomasz Dziedzic placed seventh in the 100 fly.

BIG TEN HISTORY — In the 94-year history of the Big Ten meet, Iowa has won three team titles and 100 event titles, including 73 individual swimming, 19 diving and eight relays. Iowa won team titles in 1936, 1981 and 1982. Former Hawkeyes Artur Wojdat and Timo Klami still hold all-time Big Ten top performances. Wojdat holds the best 200 free time (1:33.41), while Klami holds the best one-meter springboard diving score for 11 dives (625.60). Wojdat was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Championship in 1991 and 1992. Former Hawkeyes Rafal Szukala (1994) and Ales Abersek (2000) also earned the honor.

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader