Football Leadership Group Named

April 19, 2005

Twelve University of Iowa football players have been named to the team’s 2005 Hawkeye Leadership Group. Head Coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group following a vote by members of each individual class.

Five seniors, three juniors, two sophomores and two freshmen (redshirt) make up the Hawkeye Leadership Group. A member of the 2005 incoming freshman class will be added in the fall.

The purpose of the Group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season.

“The players, once again, have done a fine job in their selections for the Leadership Group,” said Ferentz. “The coaching staff looks forward to working with the group as we shape policies and decisions regarding the upcoming season.”

The 2005 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:Brian Ferentz           OL      Senior              Iowa City, IAChad Greenway           LB      Senior              Mt. Vernon, SDEd Hinkel               WR      Senior              Erie, PAAbdul Hodge             LB      Senior              Fort Lauderdale, FLJovon Johnson           DB      Senior              Erie, PAMike Elgin              OL      Junior              Bankston, IAJason Manson            QB      Junior              Bloomfield, CTDrew Tate               QB      Junior              Baytown, TXBryan Mattison          DE      Sophomore           Mishawaka, INMike Klinkenborg        LB      Sophomore           Rock Rapids, IAMatt Kroul              DT      Freshman            Mt. Vernon, IASeth Olsen              OL      Freshman            Omaha, NE=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>