Wagstrom Honored by UI

April 27, 2005

Two student-athletes at the University of Iowa were among the students, facultya and alumni honored last night at the 88th anniversary Finkbine Dinner for Representative Student Leaders, one of the UI’s most prestigious award ceremonies.

Natan Pheil, a four-year letterwinner on the UI men’s swimming and diving team from Neenah, Wis., and Emily Wagstrom, a four-year letterwinner on the UI rowing team, were presented the Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award given annually by the UI Presidential Committee on Athletics to a male and female student-athlete who demonstrate academic excellence, athletic excellence and leadership.

The Finkbine Dinner was created in 1917 to honor campus leaders and provide them an opportunity to meet UI administrators, faculty, fellow students and alumni. The dinner is named after William O. Finkbine, a Des Moines businessman and an 1888 graduate of the UI School of Law.

Click HERE to read more about Phiel, Wagstrom and all the award winners honored at the annual event staged in the Iowa Memorial Union Main Lounge.