Hawkeyes Hold Annual Awards Banquet

May. 2, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

IOWA CITY, IA — The Iowa men’s gymnastics team celebrated its 2005 season Saturday night at the team’s annual Dr. C. E. Obermann Awards Banquet.

Junior Michael Reavis was honored with the N.R. Holzaepfel Most Valuable Team Member Award after an impressive 2005 season. After taking the Big Ten floor exercise title and being named to the first team all-Big Ten, Reavis capped the season with an NCAA vault title. He was named an all-American on vault and in the all-around for his efforts. Reavis was also honored with the Biggest Contribution award, an award he has taken home the last three seasons. A three-time letterwinner and NCAA all-American, Reavis holds the University of Iowa records on floor exercise, vault and in the all-around.

Linas Gaveika was the recipient of the Dr. C.E. Obermann Outstanding Senior award. Gaveika was an NCAA all-American on horizontal bar in 2005 and has gathered four NCAA all-America titles in his career as a Hawkeye. He was also named first team all-Big Ten after taking sixth in the all-around and fifth on horizontal bar at the 2005 Big Ten Championships. A three-time letterwinner for the Hawkeyes, Gaveika was also named to the Academic all-Big Ten team.

Senior Kenny Lin was the recipient of the 2005 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for Iowa men’s gymnastics. Lin also took home the award for the Most Inspirational Performance at the NCAA Qualifier. At the Qualifier, Lin set the University of Iowa record of 9.85 on rings. A four-time letterwinner for the Hawkeyes, Lin was named to the Academic all-Big Ten team his sophomore through senior seasons.

Freshmen Jacob Becker and Curtis Kleffman were also honored. Becker received the Academic Excellence award while Kleffman grabbed the award for being the Best Competitor at the NCAA Championships. Both Becker and Kleffman were first-time letterwinners for Iowa.

Junior Jacques Bouchard, who was an Academic all-American for the 2003-04 season, was named to the 2005 Academic all-Big Ten team and will also serve as team captain in 2006. Bouchard is a two-time letterwinner for Iowa.

Juniors Bryan Bourland and Dan Proudfoot, and sophomores Drew Ignoto and Reid Vancelette were all named to the Academic all-Big Ten team as well.

2003-04 Academic all-Americans: Matt Metzger, Jacques Bouchard & Bryan Bourland
2004-05 Academic all-Big Ten: Jacques Bouchard, Bryan Bourland, Linas Gaveika, Drew Ignoto, Kenny Lin, Dan Proudfoot & Reid Vancelette
2005 all-Big Ten Team: Linas Gaveika & Michael Reavis in the all-around
2005 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award (for Iowa Men’s Gymnastics): Kenny Lin
2005 NCAA all-Americans: Michael Reavis on Vault and in the All-Around; Michael McNamara on Floor Exercise; Linas Gaveika on Horizontal Bar

TEAM AWARDS Dr. C.E. Obermann Outstanding Senior: Linas Gaveika
Academic Excellence: Jacob Becker
Biggest Contribution: Michael Reavis
N.R. Holzaepfel Most Valuable Team Member: Michael Reavis

2005-06 Team Captain: Jacques Bouchard