Four Hawkeyes Share MVP Honors

Dec. 10, 2005

The Bowl Game

More About Iowa Football

Seniors Abdul Hodge, Chad Greenway and Ed Hinkel and sophomore Albert Young were named co-winners of the 2005 Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Player Award for Iowa’s football team. The announcement came Saturday at the team’s annual awards banquet.

Greenway, a native of Mt. Vernon, SD, and Hodge, from Fort Lauderdale, FL, were both Big Ten Conference Players of the Week once this past season. They rank 1-2, respectively, in Big Ten tackles and are among Iowa’s career tackle leaders. Greenway was a first team all-Big Ten selection, while Hodge was named to the second unit.

Greenway has totaled a team-best 147 tackles this season, while Hodge has 139. Hodge had 18 tackles or more four times this season and had a career-high 20 against Michigan. Greenway has posted double-digit tackles 10 times this season. He had a career-high 20 tackles versuis Northern Iowa this year.

Hinkel, an Erie, PA, native, broke an arm in Iowa’s victory at Purdue game and returned to action for Iowa’s final two games. He was named honorable mention all-Big Ten and was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week for his four touchdown catches vs. Minnesota. The four touchdown receptions set a Kinnick Stadium record. He has 126 career receptions for 1,501 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Iowa is one of only for football programs in the country that have accepted invitations to play in four straight January bowl games. The Hawkeyes will square off against the Florida Gators Jan. 2 in the 2006 Outback Bowl in Tampa.

Young, a native of Moorestown, NJ, led Iowa’s rushing attack with 1,300 yards and eight touchdowns. His rushing totals rank ninth nationally. He led the Big Ten in rushing (conference games only) and was a semi-finalist for the Doak Walker Running Back of the Year Award. He was a second team all-Big Ten selection. He has rushed for over 100 yards in seven straight games, an Iowa record.

The Hawkeyes completed the 2005 regular season with a 7-4 overall record and a 5-3 mark in the Big Ten. Iowa will meet Florida in the 2006 Outback Bowl in Tampa, FL, on Jan. 2. The Hawkeyes are one of only four teams (Iowa, Southern Cal, Georgia and Florida State) in college football to play in a January bowl game four straight years. It is also the first time in school history the Hawkeyes will be playing in a January bowl four straight years.

A number of other major awards were given out at the banquet.

The Hayden Fry “Extra Heartbeat” Award went to seniors Hodge, Greenway, Hinkel and center Brian Ferentz. The award is given in honor of Iowa’s Hall of Fame coach who retired after the 1998 season. It goes to a player who gives that little bit extra at all times. Hodge was also given the Iron Hawk Award. It is presented to a Hawkeye who has given his all every play for the entire season and has represented his team and school in an exemplary fashion.

Five players share the “Next Man In Award”. On offense, sophomore wide receiver Herb Grigsby is the winner. Defensively, sophomore back Adam Shada and senior end Mike Follett were honored. Special team winners are freshmen receiver Andy Brodell and tight end Brandon Myers. All of the winners of this award replaced a starter who left the lineup with an injury and continued to deliver excellent performances.

Senior wide receiver Matt Melloy was named winner of the Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award. The award goes annually to a player(s) who displays a high degree of proficiency in both the classroom and on the playing field. Melloy is a three-time academic all-Big Ten performer who is majoring in finance.

Albert Young established himself as one of the Big Ten and nation’s best.

The 2003 Coaches Appreciation Awards went to nine players. Offensively, the award went to Ben Gates, Scott Chandler, Albert Young and Clinton Solomon. Defensively, the honor went to Jovon Johnson, Antwan Allen and Kenny Iwebema. Andy Fenstermaker and Marcus Schnoor won the special team portion of the award.

Junior kicker Kyle Schlicher was named winner of the first Reggie Roby Special Team Specialist of the Year while linebacker Zach Gabelmann and defensive back Charles Godfrey were named winners of the overall Reggie Roby Special Teams Player of the Year Award. The award is named after the late Iowa punter who a first-team all-American in 1981 and 1982. Roby died last summer. He punted in the NFL for 16 years.

The Hawkeye Hustle Awards went to 10 players. On offense, the winners are Marshal Yanda, Tom Busch and Drew Tate. Defensively, the winners are Miguel Merrick, Mitch King, Bryan Mattison and Matt Kroul. Special team winners are Mike Klinkenborg, Devan Moylan and Andrew Becker.

Team Leader Awards were given to offensive players Jake Christensen, Trey Stross and Corey Robertson. Defensive winners are Bret Chinander, Jared Oberland and Travis Meade. All are freshman, except Chinander, a senior.

Ferentz and Hinkel (offense), Greenway and Hodge (defense) and Schnoor (special teams) were named permanent captains for the 2005 season. All five are seniors. Hinkel was a permanent captain last year. The five will also serve as captains in this year’s Outback Bowl on Jan. 2.

The “Win During the Week Award” went to seniors Melloy and Ben Cronin on offense and Richie Williams on defense.

The 2005 Players’ Appreciation Award went to longtime Hawkeye booster Earl Yoder. Yoder (and his wife, Edna) have given generously to the athletic department for countless years.

The Bump Elliott Appreciation Award went to long-time football head coaching secretary Rita Foley