Hawkeyes Wrap Up Season

Feb. 7, 2006

The University of Iowa field hockey team has announced their team awards for the 2005 season. All awards were voted on by Hawkeye team members and the coaching staff.

Junior Heather Schnepf won the Most Valuable Player award. Schnepf led the Hawkeyes with five defensive saves this season. She was also first in the Big Ten with 0.31 defensive saves per game which earned her the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year award. Schnepf was a first team all-conference selection, a 2005 Dartfish/NFHCA all-Region and all-American second team pick, and was a first team all-American according to womensfieldhockey.com.

Kara Zappone was the Practice Player of the Year. The junior was honored for maintaining the highest level of intensity in practice throughout the season and helping to make her teammates better.

The Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award went to sophomore Caroline Blaum. The annual award is given to the player who demonstrates leadership skills on a daily basis while showing respect to all those around her in the classroom and on the field.