Last Meet Before Big Tens

Feb. 14, 2006

THIS WEEK — The Hawkeyes host the Iowa Invitational Friday at the University Recreation Building. Field events kick-off the meet at 4:30 p.m., with running events to begin at 5 p.m.

LAST WEEK — Iowa competed with over 75 teams from around the country in the Iowa State Classic in Ames, IA. Several Iowa indoor records were broken and three more individuals and one relay team qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships.

Sophomore Meghan Armstrong qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships when she won the mile in 4:45.43 and sophomore Kineke Alexander provisionally qualified in the 200 meters with a third place finish of 23.87. Junior Peaches Roach placed third in the high jump and qualified for the NCAAs when she cleared 5-10.75.

New Iowa records were also set during the weekend. Tiffany Johnson set a new indoor record in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.33, which was good enough for third place and a spot in the NCAA meet. The 1,600-meter relay team of Lindsey McCalla, Ashley Granger, Alexander and Johnson now hold the top time of 3:40.52, and also qualified for the NCAAs.

Throwers Erin O’Hern and Becca Franklin both broke the previous indoor record in the weight throw. O’Hern holds the new high mark with a toss of 51-7.75 and Franklin is second with a throw of 51-1.

Sophomore Shane Maier was the top men’s performer. He improved his provisional qualifying mark when he placed seventh in the shot put with a toss of 59-5.75. Micah VanDenend inserted his name into the Iowa record books with a 4:08.31 finish in the mile. That time is ninth best in indoor history.

RECORDS FALLING — The Hawkeyes have rewritten the record books this season. Three individuals now hold the top marks in their events and one relay team also took over the first spot. Sophomore Eric MacTaggart owns the best indoor 3,000 meter time when he crossed the finish line in 8:08.79 at the Meyo Invitational. Junior Tiffany Johnson broke the 60-meter hurdle time (8.33) in the Iowa State Classic and Erin O’Hern threw a 51-1.75 in the weight throw to take the number-one spot. Lindsey McCalla, Ashley Granger, Kineke Alexander and Johnson ran 3:40.52 in the 1,600-meter relay at the Classic to break the previous record by almost four seconds.

NCAA QUALIFIERS — Several Hawkeyes have provisionally qualified for the 2006 NCAA Indoor Championships hosted by the University of Arkansas, in Fayetteville, AK. Kineke Alexander, Meghan Armstrong, Tiffany Johnson, and Lindsey McCalla, Ashley Granger, Alexander and Johnson all qualified in the Iowa State Classic. Sophomore Shane Maier and junior Adam Hamilton have already qualified in field events.

   Name                Event        Mark       Big Ten/NCAA RankKineke Alexander#    200 Meters     23.87          4th/25thKineke Alexander#    400 Meters     52.88          2nd/4thMeghan Armstrong#         Mile       4:45.43           3rd/18thTiffany Johnson#    60 Meter Hurdles    8.33           1st/24thMcCalla Granger,    1,600-Meter Relay   3:40.52          4th/NAAlexander, JohnsonAdam Hamilton#    Weight Throw  63-4.25         4th/37thShane Maier#        Shot Put    59-5.75         3rd/23rd* -- automatic qualifier, # -- provisional qualifier

TOP TEN INDOOR PERFORMERS — Several student-athletes have made it onto Top Ten indoor performance lists for the first time this season. Others have improved their standings. Here is list of Hawkeyes who have put their names in the record books in 2006:

Women's Top Ten Indoor Performers
60 Meter Hurdles 400 Meters1. Tiffany Johnson 8.33 3. Kineke Alexander 52.88
200 Meters Mile Run5. Kineke Alexander 23.87 5. Meghan Armstrong 4:45.436. Peaches Roach 24.42 8. Krista Anderson 4:51.79
3,000 Meters 5,000 Meters5. Krista Anderson 9:37.87 5. Krista Anderson 9:37.87
Shot Put Long Jump10. Amanda Chandler 43-2.25 2. Renee White 19-3.25
Weight Throw 1,600 Meter Relay1. Erin O'Hern 51-1.75 1. McCalla, Granger, 3:40.522. Becca Franklin 51-1 Alexander, Johnson
Men's Top Ten Indoor Performers
60 Meters Mile7. Lee Elbert 6.91 6. Jake Berns 4:07.438. David Chaplin 6.95 9. Micah VanDenend 4:08.31
200 Meters 3,000 Meters10. Lee Elbert 21.78 1. Eric MacTaggart 8:08.79
Triple Jump Shot Put5. Matty Gorman 48-3.5 6. Shane Maier 59-5.759. Aaron Reed 45-5.25 8. John Hickey 56-3
Weight Throw8. Ryan Jordan 57-0.75=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>="http:>

IOWA HEAD COACHING STAFF — Head Coach Larry Wieczorek is in his 10th season at the helm of the Iowa men’s track team. During his career at Iowa, Wieczorek has coached 23 all-Americans and 35 Big Ten Champions. Iowa’s highest Big Ten meet finishes during his tenure are second at the 1999 outdoor meet and fourth at the 1997 indoor meet. As a runner, Wieczorek was a six-time Big Ten champion for Iowa, winning four track and two cross country titles. He was also a four-time all-American. In 1998, Wieczorek was inducted into the Iowa Varsity Club Hall of Fame.

James Grant is in his 10th year at the helm of the women’s track program. The past three seasons have been outstanding for Grant and the Hawkeyes. Iowa placed third at the 2004 Big Ten Indoor Championships in Iowa City and sixth at the 2003 conference outdoor meet. Both were Iowa’s highest placings during Grant’s tenure. The third-place indoor finish tied the team’s highest conference finish in school history. In the last three seasons, the Hawkeyes crowned 11 Big Ten champions, 38 regional qualifiers, 15 all-region selections, 24 NCAA qualifiers and three all-Americans, while setting 17 school records.