Hawkeyes Successful In Iowa Open

Feb. 17, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The University of Iowa track team hosted the Iowa Open tonight in the University Recreation building. Athletes from Augustana, Coe, Grinnell, Wartburg and Iowa Central Community College competed with the Hawkeyes in the final meet before the Big Ten Championships next week. The Iowa women came home with five gold medals and the men won eight gold medals.

Junior Peaches Roach won the high jump when she cleared 6-0 feet and improved her NCAA Indoor provisional qualifying mark in that event. Fellow juniors Becca Franklin and Erin O’Hern continue to battle each other in the weight throw. Franklin set a new school record with a toss of 53-00.25 and O’Hern is second in the record books with a toss of 51-11.O’Hern set the previous high mark in the Iowa State Classic last weekend. Five Hawkeye women set new collegiate marks in their respective events. Ashley Granger, Lindsey McCalla and Amanda Chandler all had first place finishes, as well.

“The women that competed tonight did well,” said Hawkeye Women’s Coach James Grant. “Peaches Roach, Becca Franklin and Erin O’Hern did especially well. Peaches’ effort in the high jump significantly helped her place on the Big Ten and NCAA performance lists. Several other athletes also had personal bests tonight, which is always a good thing. I’m pleased with the meet and hope that my feelings of confidence rub off onto our athletes heading into next week’s meet.”

On the men’s side, sophomore Shane Maier improved his personal best by almost two feet when he won the shot put with a distance of 61-2. Adam Hamilton won the weight throw with a toss of 64-3.25. Maier and Hamilton both improved their qualifying marks in the shot put and weight throw, and will be competing in those events in the NCAA Championships in March. Along with several first place finishes, 15 men set new personal bests.

“I’m really pleased with the performances,” said Iowa Men’s Coach Larry Wieczorek. “Shane Maier and John Hickey threw well in the shot put. Matty Gorman and Aaron Reed both reached 23 feet in the long jump. Aaron really had a break through in that event and Jeremy Petsche had a lifetime best in the high jump. This meet more than served its purpose in preparing us for the Big Tens next week.”

The Hawkeyes will compete in the 2006 Big Ten Indoor Championships next week. The University of Wisconsin is hosting the women’s conference meet and the University of Iowa is hosting the men’s meet February 25-26 in the Recreation Building. More information about the conference meets can be found at www.uwbadgers.com and at www.hawkeyesports.com.

200 Meters1. Ashley Granger (Iowa) 25.41
400 Meters1. Lindsey McCalla (Iowa) 57.172. Aditya Jones (Iowa) 58.58
800 Meters1. Heidi Porter (Wartburg) 2:17.602. Jennie Docherty (Iowa) 2:19.003. Monica Mims (Iowa) 2:20.10
Mile1. Jill Wagaman (Wartburg) 5:20.132. Rachel Hawks (Iowa) 5:25.97
Pole Vault1. Meghan Volland (Augustana) 11-5.752. Sarah Burgett (Iowa) 11-1.75
High Jump1. Peaches Roach (Iowa) 6-02. Jenni Elbert (Iowa) 5-7
Shot Put1. Amanda Chandler (Iowa) 41-1.5
Weight Throw1. Becca Franklin (Iowa) 53-0.252. Erin O'Hern (Iowa) 51-11
60 Meters1. Dan Tutskey (Unattached) 6.792. Lee Elbert (Iowa) 6.893. David Chaplin (Iowa) 6.944. Max Milder (Iowa) 6.975. David Pierre (Iowa) 7.12
60-Meter Hurdles1. Brice Wilson (Iowa) 8.67
200 Meters1. David Chaplin (Iowa) 21.883. Lee Elbert (Iowa) 22.114. Max Milder (Iowa) 22.245. David Pierre (Iowa) 22.377. Prince Riley (Iowa) 22.8020. Brice Wilson (Iowa) 24.55
600 Meters1. Jacob Koczman (Unattached) 1:18.572. Matt O'Hollearn (Iowa) 1:21.043. Davis Linden (Iowa) 1:22.175. Daniel Peoples (Iowa) 1:24.016. Jason Wakenight (Iowa) 1:24.21
800 Meters1. Rob Hanauer (Augustana) 1:57.386. Alex Webster (Iowa) 2:00.35
Mile1. Tony Rakaric (Iowa) 4:18.342. Brian Rae (Iowa) 4:20.513. Blake Schlotzhauer (Iowa) 4:21.924. Jay Renaud (Iowa) 4:23.136. Heath Moenck (Iowa) 4:24.64
Pole Vault1. Jeff Raymond (Iowa) 15-12. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 13-1.5
Long Jump1. Matty Gorman (Iowa) 23-9.52. Aaron Reed (Iowa) 23-8
High Jump1. Jeremy Petsche (Iowa) 6-10.25T2. Ryan Kelly (Iowa) 6-6.75T2. Matty Gorman (Iowa) 6-6.755. Bobby Windauer (Iowa) 5-10.75
Weight Throw1. Adam Hamilton (Iowa) 64-3.252. Ryan Jordan (Iowa) 54-5.53. Tim Brodersen (Iowa) 52-7.56. Mark Schaapveld (Iowa) 47-118. Kale Katt (Iowa) 46-1.511. John Hickey (Iowa) 44-8.75
Shot Put1. Shane Maier (Iowa) 61-22. John Hickey (Iowa) 57-10.54. Mark Schaapveld (Iowa) 49-8.5