Hawkeyes Head To Big Ten Championships

Feb. 20, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

THIS WEEK — The Hawkeye men’s swimming and diving team will compete at the Big Ten Championships Thursday-Saturday in Bloomington, Indiana. All events will be held at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center on the Indiana University campus. All-session tickets are $25. Single-session prelim tickets are $5 for adults and $3 for students. Single-session finals tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for students. Tickets can be purchased from the Indiana University Athletic Ticket Office at 866/IUSPORTS.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS — Swimming prelims begin at 11 a.m. each day, with diving prelims at 1 p.m. Both swimming and diving finals begin at 6 p.m. All times are CST. All swimming events will be in yards and all diving events will be in meters. Following is the schedule of events:

Thursday, February 23
500 Free
200 IM
50 Free
1-Meter Diving
200 Free Relay*
400 Medley Relay*

Friday, February 24
400 IM
100 Fly
200 Free
100 Breast
100 Back
3-Meter Diving
200 Medley Relay*
800 Free Relay*

Saturday, February 25
1,650 Free (Timed Final)
200 Back
100 Free
200 Breast
200 Fly
Platform Diving
400 Free Relay*

2005 BIG TEN REVIEW — The Hawkeyes placed tenth at the 2005 Big Ten Championships. Dragos Agache in the 100 breast, the 200 medley relay (Ciurca, Shelangoski, Keeling, Boyce), 200 free relay (Boyce, Rowland, Kubat, Keeling), 400 medley (Ciurca, Agache, Boyce, Dye), 400 free relay (Dye, Kubat, Boyce, Rowland) and the 800 free relay (Dye, Kubat, Haley, Pheil) all placed in the top 10.

BIG TEN RANKINGS — Iowa ranks in the top 10 in the Big Ten Conference rankings in five relays. The 200 freestyle relay is ranked eighth. The 400 and 800 freestyle relays and the 200 and 400 medley relays are ranked ninth.

BIG TEN HISTORY — In the 94-year history of the Big Ten Men’s Swimming Championships, Iowa has crowned 100 event champions, including 73 swimmers, 19 relays and eight divers. The Hawkeyes have won three team titles (1936, 1981 and 1982). Michigan has won 32 team titles, Indiana 23, Ohio State 12 and Minnesota eight (including the past two).