GymHawks Head To Iowa State

March 13, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

This Week

The University of Iowa women’s gymnastics team will travel to Iowa State, Friday, in its last meet of the regular season. This is the last event of the Hy-Vee Cy-Hawk series. Competition will take place at the Hilton Coliseum and will begin at 7 p.m.

Scouting Iowa State

Iowa State is ranked fourth nationally with an average score of 195.765 and a high score of 196.650. Top Cyclone competitors include Janet Anson, Erin Dethloff, and Laura-Kay Powell. Anson is ranked fifth on vault with a high score of 9.975, and fifth on floor with a high score of 9.925. Dethloff is ranked 19th on bars with a high score of 9.925, and tenth in the all-around with a high of 39.500. Powell is ranked 12th on beam with a high score of 9.925.

Last Time Against Iowa State

Iowa hosted Iowa State, January 28th in the Breast Cancer Awareness meet. Iowa State won the competition, 195.700-193.375. Iowa State won each event in the competition.

Last Competition

No. 34 Iowa lost to No. 12 Missouri last weekend in Iowa City. On vault, Kortny Williamson had the best score for the Hawkeyes with a first-place 9.825. On bars, Katie Burke placed fourth with a 9.675. On beam, freshman Brandi Loffer placed fifth, posting a score of 9.675. Liz Grajewski placed second on floor exercise with a 9.8, and second in the all-around with a 38.225.

Head Coach Larissa Libby

Larissa Libby is in her second season as head coach for the Hawkeyes. In her first year, Libby recorded an 8-14 record. Before becoming head coach, Libby was Iowa’s associate head coach for one year and an assistant coach three seasons. While associate head coach, Libby led the GymHawks to a school record 49.425 beam performance in 2004. In addition, in 2004 the GymHawks recorded a 49.0 or higher seven times on beam under Libby’s guidance.

Next Competition

The Hawkeyes will travel to East Lansing, MI, for the Big Ten Championships, March 25th. Competition will take place at Jenison Field House and will begin at 5 p.m. (CST).