Hawkeyes Head To Big Ten Championships

Feb. 5, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

THIS WEEK — The Hawkeye women’s swimming and diving team will compete at the Big Ten Championships Thursday-Saturday in Minneapolis, MN. All events will be held in the University Aquatic Center on the University of Minnesota campus. All session tickets are $35, single-session prelim tickets are $6 and single-session finals tickets are $8. Tickets can be purchased through the University of Minnesota Athletics Ticket Office at 800-U-GOPHER (800-846-7437).

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS — Event prelims begin at 11 a.m. each day, with diving starting at 1 p.m. Both swimming and diving finals begin at 7 p.m; times are CST. All swimming events will be in yards and all diving events will be in meters. Following is the schedule of events:

Thursday, Feb. 8
200 Free Relay
500 Free
200 IM
50 Free
1-Meter Diving
400 Medley Relay

Friday, Feb. 9
200 Medley Relay
400 IM
100 Fly
200 Free
100 Breast
100 Back
3-Meter Diving
800 Free Relay*

Saturday, Feb. 10
1,650 Free (Timed Final)*
200 Back
100 Free
200 Breast
200 Fly
Platform Diving
400 Free Relay

2006 BIG TEN REVIEW — The Hawkeyes placed 10th at the 2006 Big Ten Championships, scoring 163.5 points. Penn State won the team title with 552. Senior Nancilea Underwood led the Hawkeyes with a second place finish in one-meter diving (322.75) and fourth in three-meter diving (335.05). Fellow senior Kelly Werner placed fourth in the 100 back (55.53) and seventh in the 200 back (2:00.74).

BIG TEN HISTORY — In the 25-year history of the Big Ten Women’s Swimming Championships, Iowa has crowned 13 event champions, including nine swimmers, three divers and one relay. The Hawkeyes have yet to win a team title. Michigan has won 14 team titles, Ohio State has won five, Penn State three, Minnesota two, and Indiana one.