Iowa to Meet Indiana in Big Ten Tournament First Round

Feb. 25, 2007

Big Ten Tournament Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS — The Iowa women’s basketball team will be the No. 8 seed at the 2007 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament presented by Xbox 360 and will open tournament action against No. 9 Indiana on Thursday at approximately 7 p.m. (CST) in the Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, IN.

Tickets are available for the 2007 Big Ten Women’s Tournament in Indianapolis, IN. An all-session (10 games) ticket costs $65. Fans interested in sitting in the Iowa section can call the UI Ticket Office at 1-800-IA-HAWKS. Single-session tickets range from $12-$16 and can be purchased at all Ticketmaster outlets, including the Conseco Fieldhouse box office and

The Hawkeyes notched a thrilling 103-93 victory at Wisconsin today to finish the regular season with a 14-15 overall record and 6-10 mark in conference play. After results of today’s action around the league, Iowa finished in an eighth-place tie with Indiana (17-12, 6-10). The Hawkeyes won the tiebreaker over the Hoosiers due to their 71-67 win over Indiana in Bloomington, IN, on January 11. Indiana’s 78-68 loss at Penn State, coupled with Iowa’s 103-93 win over Wisconsin, give both the Hawkeyes and Hoosiers identical 6-10 league records.

Thursday’s match-up against Indiana will mark the fourth time the Hawkeyes and Hoosiers will play a Big Ten Tournament game against each other. Iowa defeated Indiana, 87-53, in the 1997 semifinals and 81-76 in the 2001 quarterfinals. The Hoosiers escaped with a 78-76 overtime victory in the 2002 quarterfinals.

Ohio State (26-2, 15-1) earned the tournament top seed after defeating Michigan, 72-58, today at Ann Arbor, MI. Purdue (25-5, 14-2) is the No. 2 seed, while Michigan State (22-7, 13-3) secured the No. 3 seed. No. 4 Illinois (18-10, 8-8) will meet No. 5 Penn State (14-15, 7-9) in the quarterfinals. The first five seeds earn first round byes. The first round of the tournament begins Thursday with No. 7 Wisconsin (18-11, 7-9) taking on No. 10 Michigan (10-19, 3-13) at 2 p.m. (CST), followed by No. 6 Minnesota (15-14, 7-9) facing No. 11 Northwestern (8-21, 2-14) and No. 8 Iowa (14-15, 6-10) playing No. 9 Indiana (17-12, 6-10).

Comcast SportsNet Chicago will televise all Big Ten Tournament games, with the exception of the championship game, which will be shown on ESPN2.

This marks the second time Iowa will be the No. 8 seed in the Big Ten Tournament. The Hawkeyes were the eighth seed in the 1999 tournament. Iowa lost to ninth-seeded Northwestern (75-71) in the first round.

Iowa holds a 12-10 record in conference tournament contests, including capturing two tournament titles (1997 and 2001). Last year, the Hawkeyes were the No. 5 seed and lost to No. 4 Michigan State (79-58) in the quarterfinals.

Iowa Head Coach Lisa Bluder will hold a press conference Tuesday at 11:30 a.m. in the Press Room of Carver-Hawkeye Arena to talk about the upcoming conference tournament and the Hawkeyes’ first round opponent (Indiana).