Haluska Named First Team All-Big Ten

March 6, 2007

Watch: Iowa Basketball Salute to the Seniors
2007 Big Ten Tournament Central

IOWA CITY – University of Iowa senior Adam Haluska has been named to the first 2007 all-Big Ten Conference team. Haluska is a first team selection by both the Big Ten coaches and league media.

Iowa freshman Tyler Smith earned third team honors by both the coaches and media and he was named to the five player all-Freshman team selected by league coaches.

“Adam has proven himself as one of the top players in the Big Ten and the nation,” said Iowa Coach Steve Alford. “Leading the league in scoring is a great accomplishment. Along with that, Adam has improved his overall game and it’s rewarding to see him recognized for his play throughout the season.

“The recognition for Tyler is deserving as well,” added Alford. “Tyler has contributed to our success in a number of ways. He improved throughout the season as he learned what playing in the Big Ten Conference is all about. He is a hard worker with a bright future.”

The coaches and media selected the same players for top individual honors. Both named Wisconsin’s Alando Tucker Player of the Year, Ohio State’s Greg Oden Freshman of the Year and OSU’s Thad Matta Coach of the Year. League coaches also named Oden Defensive Player of the Year and OSU’s Daequan Cook Sixth Man of the Year.

Haluska, a native of Carroll, IA, led the Big Ten Conference in scoring (21.3) and ranked among league leaders in free throw percentage, minutes played, three-point field goals per game and steals. He earned third team honors as a junior and was honorable mention as a sophomore. Haluska was recently named as the academic all-American of the Year after earning academic all-America honors for the second straight year.

Smith, a native of Pulaski, TN, ranks second on the team in scoring (14.8) and leads Iowa in rebounding (4.9). He leads the team in steals and is second in assists. Smith is just the third Hawkeye ever to total over 200 points, 100 rebounds and 100 assists in their first season.

Haluska’s first team recognition gives Iowa a first team selection in consecutive years for the first time since the 1996 and 1997 seasons. Greg Brunner earned first team honors a year ago.

Smith is the first Iowa freshman to be named to any of the first three all-Big Ten teams since Jess Settles in 1994. Settles was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year and earned third team recognition.

Tucker and Oden join Haluska on the coaches first team, along with Drew Neitzel of Michigan State and Purdue’s Carl Landry. Along with Haluska, the media first team includes Neitzel, Oden, Tucker and Ohio State’s Mike Conley, Jr.

Haluska and Henderson and the Hawkeyes square off against Purdue on Friday in the second game of the second round of the 2007 Big Ten Conference Men’s Basketball Tournament. Game time inside Chicago’s United Center is set for shortly after 1:30 p.m. Iowa time. The game will be televised live by ESPN.


Complete all-Big Ten teams in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader