Haluska Named Men's Basketball Most Valuable Player

April 15, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Senior Adam Haluska, who earned all-America recognition as a student and athlete, has been named Iowa’s Most Valuable Player for the 2006-07 basketball season. The announcement came at the squad’s annual awards banquet Saturday evening.

Haluska, a native of Carroll, led the Big Ten Conference in scoring (20.5) while earning first team all-Big Ten honors and honorable mention all-America (Associated Press) recognition. He was named first team academic all-American, as well, and was selected as the academic all-American of the Year for Division I men’s basketball.

Haluska started all 98 games at Iowa over the past three seasons and ranks seventh in career scoring with 1,578 points. He is Iowa’s scoring leader among those who played just three seasons. Haluska also earned academic all-Big Ten recognition in each of his three seasons with the Hawkeye program.

Haluska and Mike Henderson were recognized with Leadership Awards as the only seniors on the squad. Henderson, a Waterloo native, missed the first seven games of the season due to a hand injury. He averaged 5.8 points per game. The two seniors received framed game jerseys.

Sophomore Tony Freeman received the Chris Street Award, which is presented annually to a Hawkeye player, or players, who best exemplify the spirit, enthusiasm and intensity of Chris Street. Freeman, from Maywood, IL, started 17 of 31 games. He led the team in assists (3.7) and ranked third in scoring (7.5) and steals (1.1).

Haluska, Freeman and Brett Wessels earned Academic Recognition Awards for their accomplishments in the classroom. Wessels, a sophomore from Bettendorf, joined Haluska in earning academic all-Big Ten recognition.

Freshman Tyler Smith received the Impact Player Award, while junior Kurt Looby and freshman Dan Bohall were co-recipients of the Most Improved Award.

Smith, a native of Pulaski, TN, averaged 14.9 points to rank second in scoring. His 4.9 rebounds and 1.5 steals per game led the team and he ranked second in assists (3.6). He ranked among the top freshmen in Big Ten scoring, rebounding, steals and assists.

Looby averaged 3.8 points and 4.6 rebounds per game in his first season. The native of St. John’s, Antigua led the team with 53 blocked shots, a total that is the eighth best single season total at Iowa. Bohall is a native of Sioux City who played his first season after redshirting in 2005-06.

In addition, several players were recognized with Extra Effort and Statistical Awards. Haluska led the team by making five free throws or more in 17 games and he also led the team in free throw percentage (87%). Freeman was recognized for leading the team in assists (116) and Smith led the team in rebounds (153). Junior Seth Gorney led Iowa in field goal percentage (.575) and Justin Johnson had the top three-point percentage (.455). Looby and junior Cyrus Tate shared the award for most rebound baskets.

Haluska and Henderson, along with senior managers Derek Schairer and Andrew Jones, each received senior awards from the Johnson County I-Club.