Haluska and Zappone Earn Sportsmanship Award

June 6, 2007

IOWA CITY – The Big Ten Conference Office today recognized 22 student-athletes who were named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. Senior men’s basketball player Adam Haluska and senior field hockey athlete Kara Zappone were Iowa’s two honorees.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by the institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree and from each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Haluska, who is now a two-time recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, led the Big Ten Conference in scoring (20.5) while earning first team all-Big Ten honors and honorable mention all-America (Associated Press) recognition. He was named first team academic all-American, as well, and was selected as the academic all-American of the Year for Division I men’s basketball.

Haluska started all 98 games at Iowa over the past three seasons and ranks seventh in career scoring with 1,578 points. He is Iowa’s scoring leader among those who played just three seasons. The native of Carroll, IA, also earned academic all-Big Ten recognition in each of his three seasons with the Hawkeye program.

Zappone played in all 21 games as a forward for the Hawkeyes last fall. She scored four goals, including netting the game winner against West Chester. The native of Queensbury, NY, also knocked in two unassisted goals against No. 6 Ohio State. Additionally, Zappone was Iowa’s Big Ten Sportsmanship nominee for field hockey her junior year.

Kara Zappone is Iowa’s female recipient of the 2007 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Iowa’s Sportsmanship Award Nominees
Jeff Kent – men’s cross country
Racheal Marchand – women’s cross country
Jason Manson – football
Melisa Kaetterhenry – women’s soccer
Kara Zappone – field hockey
Melanie Meister – volleyball
Jacques Bouchard – men’s gymnastics
Kara Pinjuv – women’s gymnastics
Adam Haluska – men’s basketball
Wendy Ausdemore – women’s basketball
Adam Hamilton – men’s indoor track and field
Becca Franklin – women’s indoor track and field
Jake Moore – men’s swimming and diving
Robin Samples – women’s swimming and diving
Eric Luedke – wrestling
Karla Murra – women’s golf
Dan Holterhaus – men’s golf
Bart van Monsjou – men’s tennis
Kelcie Klockenga – women’s tennis
Casey O’Rourke – baseball
Katie Brown – softball
Micah VanDenend – men’s outdoor track and field
Sarah Burgett – women’s outdoor track and field
Melissa Wordelman – rowing

Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.