Whaley Sets School Record


March 1, 2008

Complete Results

ANN ARBOR, MI – The University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team was in Ann Arbor, MI, for the final day of the 2008 Big Ten Swimming Championships. After the evening finals, the Hawkeyes finished in ninth place with 187 points; Michigan won their 33rd Big Ten swimming championship, most of any team, with 660.5 points.

Sophomore Wil Whaley set a new school record while finishing in15th place in the 200 backstroke (1:46.11). The time is also an NCAA provisional qualifying time.

Overall, the 18 swimming events provided Iowa with 16 season best times, the first three NCAA provisional qualifying times of the year, and one school record (200 backstroke).

Fans can catch the action on the Big Ten Network; coverage will begin at 7 p.m. on Thursday, Mar. 6.

Freshman Conor Dwyer led the Hawkeyes with 47 points after his fifth place finish in the 200 freestyle and legs in the 200 medley and 200, 400 and 800 freestyle relays.

1. Minnesota 1081.5
2. Indian 855
3. Minnesota 682.5
4. Ohio State 680.5
5. Purdue 488.5
6. Northwestern 438
7. Wisconsin 363
8. Penn State 318
9. IOWA 187
10. Michigan State 159

1650 Freestyle
1. Matt Patton (Mich) 14:51.79*A

200 Backstroke
1. Ben Hesen (Ind) 1:40.85*A
15. Wil Whaley (IOWA) 1:46.11*B

100 Freestyle
1. Bobby Savulich (Mich) 42.89*A

200 Breaststroke
1. Scott Spann (Mich) 1:53.17*A

200 Butterfly
1. Alex Vanderkaay (Mich) 1:43.65*A

Platform Diving
1. Wes Wieser (OSU) 415.40
12. Michael Gilligan (IOWA) 278.85

400 Freestyle Relay
1. Michigan 2:53.58*A
(Savulich, Brady, Clary, Vanderkaay)
8. IOWA 3:00.68
(Dwyer, Salhus, Miner, Hagan)

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.