van Monsjou Named First Team All-Big Ten

April 25, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA – Senior Bart van Monsjou, of the University of Iowa men’s tennis team, has been selected first team all-Big Ten. van Monsjou is the first Hawkeye to be named since Stuart Waters was selected to the first team in 2003.

A unanimous choice, van Monsjou is from Oirschot, Netherlands. He finished the season ranked 79th nationally in men’s singles after compiling a record of 15-6. He was 7-3 in Big Ten play at No. 1 singles. Additionally, he and fellow senior J.P. Ritchie finished the regular season ranked 56th nationally at No. 1 doubles. The duo finished 13-7 overall and 5-5 in Big Ten play at the No. 1 spot. This is the first time van Monsjou has been named all-Big Ten.

In addition, he represents the Hawkeyes as the team’s 2008 Sportsmanship Award Honoree. Each school has one student-athlete chosen who has distinguished himself through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Each student-athlete selected is now a candidate for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. van Monsjou won the Big Ten Sportsmanship award last year.

“This is a very well deserved honor for Bart,” said Head Coach Steve Houghton. “He had a great year playing against the toughest competition in the Big Ten. Additionally, he has definitely been one of our top five players in the last 30 years.”

Athlete of the Year - Bryan Koniecko, Ohio StateFreshman of the Year - Marek Michalicka, WisconsinCoach of the Year - Ty Tucker, Ohio State
2008 All-Big Ten Team                 2008 Sportsmanship Award HonoreesRuben Gonzales, Illinois*           Brandon Davis, IllinoisRyan Rowe, Illinois*            Dara McLoughlin, IndianaThomas Richter, Indiana             Bart van Monsjou, Iowa=""http:"="">Bart van Monsjou, Iowa*=",%20MichiganMatko%20Maravic,%20Michigan*%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Scott%20Rasmussen,%20Michigan%20StateRaoul%20Schwark,%20Minnesota%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Tobias%20Wernet,%20MinnesotaBryan%20Koniecko,%20Ohio%20State*%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Alex%20Sanborn,%20NorthwesternJustin%20Kronauge,%20Ohio%20State*%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Drew%20Eberly,%20Ohio%20StateSteven%20Moneke,%20Ohio%20State*%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Brendan%20Lynch,%20Penn%20StateMichael%20James,%20Penn%20State%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Slavko%20Bijelica,%20PurdueMoritz%20Baumann,%20Wisconsin*%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Marek%20Michalicka,%20WisconsinNolan%20Polley,%20Wisconsin%3Cbr%3E*unanimous%20selection%3C/pre%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Cp%3E%3Cbr%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3C/p%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Cp%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Cp%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Cp%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Cp%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Ctable%20border='0'%20cellpadding='0'%20cellspacing='0'%20align='left'%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Ctr%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Ctd%20align='center'%20width="150">                    

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.