Donahue Finalist For Ray Guy Award

Oct. 30, 2008

IOWA CITY – University of Iowa sophomore punter Ryan Donahue has been named a finalist for the 2008 Ray Guy Award. The award is given annually to the player voted the best punter in collegiate football.

Donahue is one of 10 finalists for the prestigious award. The winner is announced during the Home Deport College Football Awards Show on Dec. 11th in Orlando, FL.

Donahue, a native of Evergreen, IL, was named to The Sporting News Freshman All-America team as a freshman and was an honorable mention all-Big Ten pick last year.

The award is named for football legend, Ray Guy, the first punter ever inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame (2004). This year, 53 punters were nominated for the honor. The nominees were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage and percentage not returned.

Donahue is averaging 40.9 yards a punt. He has at least one punt over 50 yards in five of the last six Iowa games. Thirteen of his punts have been downed inside the 20-yard line.

The 10 finalists are:
Bryan Anger, California, Freshman
Derek Epperson, Baylor, Sophomore
Ryan Donahue, Iowa, Sophomore
Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State, Senior
Chas Henry, Florida, Sophomore
Kevin Huber, Cincinnati, Senior
Pat McAfee, West Virginia, Senior
Zoltan Mesko, Michigan, Junior
Louie Sakoda, Utah, Senior
A.J. Trapasso, Ohio State, Senior