Iowa Shuts Down Nebraska


Nov. 1, 2008

Complete Results

IOWA CITY, IA – The Iowa women’s swimming and diving team defeated Nebraska 192-107 today at the Field House Pool. The Hawkeyes came out strong and took first place in every event except two. Iowa now stands at 3-1 overall this season, with a 1-1 record in the Big Ten.

The Hawkeye women opened the meet with a dominant performance in the 400 medley relay, taking first and second in the event. Danielle Carty, Katarina Tour, Laura Mozdzen, and Christine Kuczek took first in the event in 3:52.14, while Hilary Leigh, Julie Feingold, Sophie Borchers, and Julie deBruin came in second with a time of 3:55.43.

Iowa kept up its momentum, also taking first in the 1,000 and 200 freestyle races. Ashley Dell took the top spot in the 1,000 in 10:23.72 and Verity Hicks came in first in the 200 free with a time of 1:54.18. Dell also took first place in the 500 freestyle with a time of 5:04.04.

At the first swimming break, Iowa led Nebraska 93-38. The Hawkeye divers helped to extend the lead to 107-43 after the one meter diving competition, with Iowa claiming the first, second, and fifth places finishes in the event. Deidre Freeman earned first in the event (263.10) while Veronica Rydze finished second (246.60). Freeman concluded a strong day of competition by also taking first place in the three meter competition with a score of 310.50.

The Hawkeyes remained strong and, for the second consecutive meet, were able to post the top times in both of the meet’s relay events. Iowa secured the win over Nebraska and concluded the meet by taking first in the 400 freestyle relay. Daniela Cubelic, Alison Gschwend, Carty and Kuczek finished in 3:30.96 to take first place in the event.

“It was a great win against a well-coached Big Twelve opponent,” said Iowa Head Coach Marc Long. “I’m very proud of the way the women stepped up and dove and swam.”

The Iowa men and women’s swimming and diving team return to action Friday, Nov. 7 when they travel to Minneapolis, MN to take on Minnesota. The meet is scheduled to begin at 5 p.m. at the University Aquatic Center.