Greene a Semifinalist for Maxwell Award

Nov. 5, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA – University of Iowa junior running back Shonn Greene has been named a semifinalist for the 2008 Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year.

Greene is having a record-breaking year for the Hawkeyes. He has rushed for over 100 yards in all nine games and is the only player in the country to achieve that distinction. He ranks second in the Big Ten and third nationally in rushing with 1,257 yards for a 6.35 yards a carry average. Greene has been listed on the Doak Walker Running Back of the Year watch list.

The Maxwell list includes a field of 15 candidates as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee. In 2007 Tebow was the first sophomore ever selected as the winner of the Maxwell Award.

The announcement of the winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be made during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday December 11, 2008. Three finalists for each award will be in attendance for the ESPN broadcast. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 6, 2009 at the Harrah’s Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

The semifinalists are listed below:

Bradford, Sam: University of Oklahoma, QB, SO
Brown, Donald: University of Connecticut, RB, JR
Clark, Darryl: Penn State University, QB, SR
Crabtree, Michael: Texas Tech, WR, SO
Daniel, Chase: University of Missouri, QB, SR
Greene, Shonn: University of Iowa, RB, JR
Harrell , Graham: Texas Tech, QB, SR
Maclin, Jeremy: University of Missouri, WR, SO
McCoy, Colt: University of Texas, QB, JR
McCoy, LeSean: University of Pittsburgh, RB, SO
Moreno, Knowshon: University of Georgia, RB, SO
Ringer, Javon: Michigan State University, RB, SR
Robinson, Zac: Oklahoma State University, QB, JR
Sanchez, Mark: University of Southern California, QB, JR
Tebow, Tim: University of Florida, QB, JR