Iowa Captures Third-Straight Title

Nov. 9, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, IN – The University of Iowa field hockey team defeated fifth-seeded Ohio State, 2-1, in overtime in the championship game of the Big Ten Tournament Sunday held on the campus of Indiana University. With the victory, Iowa captured its third-straight Big Ten Tournament title and an automatic berth to next weekend’s NCAA Tournament. Senior Lauren Pfeiffer was named tournament MVP and junior Tricia Dean was named to the all-tournament team.

“It did not come easy but our players kept battling and worked their tails off,” said Head Coach Tracey Griesbaum. “To win three-straight titles is a credit to this junior and senior class. They stuck together and fought for each other.”

Senior Lauren Pfeiffer was named Big Ten Tournament MVP.

The contest was a defensive battle until the Hawkeyes took a 1-0 in the 15th minute off a beautiful penalty stroke from first team all-Big Ten honoree Pfeiffer. Pfeiffer scored as she lifted the shot to the upper-left hand corner of the goal. The first half would end with Iowa leading 1-0.

Ohio State (14-7) tied the game in the 47th minute of regulation off a penalty corner. Linda Haussener dribbled in close and scored to tie the game at one. The Black and Gold would come close to pushing across another score late in regulation but were unable to finish. Iowa, who was seeded second in the tournament, was headed to its second-straight overtime game.

Each team went back-and-forth in overtime before Iowa was awarded a corner in the 79th minute of play. First team all-Big Ten honoree Caroline Blaum found Pfeiffer, who slammed home the game-winner for the Hawkeyes.

With two more goals Sunday, Pfeiffer totaled five tournament goals for the second-straight year. She again ties the record for second-most goals scored during the tournament. Pfeiffer also matched her own record set in last season’s tournament with 10 total points.

Iowa (16-4), winner of nine-straight tournament games, has now claimed its fourth tournament title all-time and third straight. Only one other team has captured three-straight titles – Penn State won four straight from 1995-98. In addition, this is the first championship game decided in overtime.

IOWA 1 0 1 – 2OSU 0 1 0 – 1
UI Lauren Pfeiffer (penalty stroke) 15:42/1st
OSU Linsa Haussener (unassisted) 47:42/2nd
UI Lauren Pfeiffer (Caroline Blaum) 79:09/OT

Shots – Iowa 13, Ohio State 10
Penalty Corners – Iowa 7, Ohio State 8
Saves – Lissa Munley (Iowa) 4, Ally Tunitis (Ohio State) 6
Team Records – Iowa (16-4, 4-2); Ohio State (14-7, 3-3)