Simbhudas, Gebeshian Receive All-Big Ten Honors

March 20, 2009

CHAMPAIGN, IL – Iowa senior gymnast Jenifer Simbhudas and sophomore Houry Gebeshian were named first team all-Big Ten Friday night at the Big Ten Championships banquet in Champaign, IL. The first and second teams were selected by vote of all the conference’s coaches.

It is the third such honor for Simbhudas, who was named to the first team last season as a junior after being named to the second team as a sophomore. The Markham, Ontario native is having a very productive season for the GymHawks, leading the team with high scores on vault, floor and in the all-around. Simbhudas becomes the sixth Iowa gymnast in history to be named all-Big Ten three times in her career, joining Kim Baker (1994-96), Giselle Boniforti (1998-00), Lori Cole (1989-91), Stephanie Gran (2001, 2003-04), and Alexis Maday (2001-04).

It is the first honor for Gebeshian, who has taken first place in the all-around four times this season and recorded career-highs in three events. Both gymnasts have competed as all-around competitors in every meet this season for the GymHawks.

“We’re extremely excited for both of them,” Iowa head coach Larissa Libby said. “It’s nice to see them get rewarded for all the hard work they put in this year. I think it speaks to the depth of our program and it speaks to what they have accomplished inside the gym this season. It’s a terrific honor.”

Freshman Heather Fomon was Iowa’s nominee for the Big Ten’s Sportsmanship award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The seven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

The Big Ten Championships kick off Saturday at 2 p.m. The meet will be featured live on the Big Ten Network. Jim Kelly, Eddie Umphrey and Elise Ray will call the action. Individual honors, including Gymnast of the Year and Coach of the Year, will be announced at the meet’s conclusion.

First Team               Second TeamKylee Botterman, Michigan           Becky Bernard, MichiganSarah Curtis, Michigan          Marijka Botterman, IllinoisTatjana Thuener-Rego, Michigan      Allison Buckley, IllinoisCarmelina Carabajal, Minnesota      Nicole Cowart, IllinoisAlexis Russell, Minnesota           Kelsey Joannides, IllinoisHoury Gebeshian, Iowa=",%20Illinois%3Cstrong%3E%3Cahref="http:"="">Jenifer Simbhudas, Iowa=",%20Ohio%20StateTaylor%20Jones,%20Ohio%20State%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Whitney%20Bencsko,%20Penn%20StateBrandi%20Personett,%20Penn%20State%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Nicole%20Curler,%20Michigan%20StateRochelle%20Robinson,%20Michigan%20State%3C/pre%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Cp%3E%3Cbr%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3C/p%3E%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Cp%3E%3Cimg%20src="/images/2016/6/1//thhh.jpg" width="180" height="62" class="imported">