Hawkeyes Celebrate Successful Season

April 24, 2009

IOWA CITY — The University of Iowa women’s basketball team held its annual banquet Friday night celebrating its second-place Big Ten finish and 18th appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

The Hawkeyes reflected on their season and announced team awards. Senior Wendy Ausdemore earned the Coaches Award, which is emblematic of the player who represents the team, on-and-off the court, in a positive manner and demonstrates a tremendous work ethic. Sophomore Kachine Alexander was honored with the Most Improved Player Award. Ausdemore was recognized with the Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award.

Statistical leader plaques were given to Alexander, Ausdemore and JoAnn Hamlin. Alexander was honored as Iowa’s leading rebounder, averaging 8.8 boards per contest. Her 282 total rebounds rank as the fourth-most in a single-season at Iowa. Hamlin registered the team’s top field goal percentage (.491, 83-169). Alexander was also recognized for recording the most assists (121). Ausdemore had the team’s top free throw percentage, missing only five attempts her senior campaign (.912, 52-57). Additionally, a plaque was given to graduating senior manager Clark Anderson.

All five Hawkeye starters, who earned all-conference accolades, were also honored. Iowa’s five honorees helped propel the Hawkeyes to a 21-11 overall record and a three-way tie for second place in the Big Ten with a 13-5 mark. Senior Kristi Smith earned first team honors by both the media and coaches. The 5-6 point guard became the first Hawkeye to earn first team all-conference laurels since Lindsey Meder (2001 and 2002). Alexander was recognized on the second team by the coaches and the third team by the media. Ausdemore was a third team pick by the coaches and an honorable mention selection by the media. Senior Megan Skouby was tabbed honorable mention by both the coaches and media. Kamille Wahlin was honored on the coaches’ all-freshman squad.

Ausdemore was also recognized as Iowa women’s basketball’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award nominee.

Two Hawkeyes, Ausdemore and sophomore Kelsey Cermak earned academic all-Big Ten recognition. This year marked the third time Ausdemore received academic all-conference laurels, while it was the first time for Cermak. Student-athletes are not eligible for academic all-Big Ten until their second-year of eligibility.