Donahue Named to Ray Guy Watch List

Aug. 5, 2009

IOWA CITY – University of Iowa junior Ryan Donahue is one of only nine student-athletes named to the watch list for the 2009 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter. The pre-season list is comprised of a select group of punters who stood out during the 2008 season, including five returning Ray Guy semi-finalists, which includes Donahue.

Donahue, who was a second team all-Big Ten performer, punted 50 times his sophomore campaign. He averaged 41.6 yards per punt, which ranked sixth in the Big Ten and 35th nationally. Donahue averaged 42.4 yards per kick in eight conference games, which ranked fourth. Donahue recorded at least one punt over 50 yards in nine of the last 11 contests, including a long of 64 yards in Iowa’s triumph over Iowa State. Additionally, 19 of his punts were downed inside the 20.

The number of eligible candidates will grow when the award opens for nominations in mid-August. A complete list of candidates will be released in late-October.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, and ultimately the winner. The winner will be announced live during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN Dec. 10.

2009 Ray Guy Award Watch List
Bryan Anger, California, Sophomore: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Ben Armer, Western Michigan, Sophomore
Travis Baltz, Maryland, Junior
Matt Dodge, East Carolina, Senior
Ryan Donahue, Iowa, Junior: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Derek Epperson, Baylor, Junior: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Chas Henry, Florida, Junior: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Zoltan Mesko, Michigan, Senior: 2008 Ray Guy Award semi-finalist
Ross Thevenot, Tulane, Senior