Hawkeyes Name Team Captains

Aug. 22, 2009

IOWA CITY, IA – – University of Iowa Head Field Hockey Coach Tracey Griesbaum announced that seniors Meghan Beamesderfer and Tricia Dean and sophomore Becca Spengler were named team co-captains for the 2009 season. All three were selected by their teammates.

“Meg, Tricia and Becca were all nominated by their teammates and I feel really confident in the three of them,” said Griesbaum.

Beamesderfer, a two-time all-Big Ten honoree and a three-time regional all-American, along with Dean have started a combined 127 career games. Both have been mainstays for Iowa the last three seasons. The duo helped lead the Black and Gold to three-straight Big Ten Tournament championships and three-straight NCAA Tournament appearances.

“It is absolutely awesome for Meg and Tricia because they have been in the shadow of last year’s really strong senior class,” added Griesbaum. “Every year they were like the little sister so they have completely earned it. They have earned the respect of their teammates.”

As a freshman, Spengler played in 11 games, including three starts. She tallied her first career goal against Indiana in the Big Ten Tournament.

“Becca as a sophomore will be great for our future,” said Griesbaum. “There will be continuity throughout the spring and next year and that will be outstanding. Becca takes what she does very seriously. The three represent what we believe in and I am very excited.”

The Hawkeyes return as the three-time defending Big Ten Tournament champion and 2008 NCAA Final Four participant. Iowa opens the season against defending NCAA runner-up Wake Forest Aug. 29 at 11:30 a.m. The Hawkeyes will face 2007 National Champion North Carolina Aug. 30 at 11:30 a.m.