Iowa Places Fourth to Start Season at Windy City Invitational

CHICAGO, IL – The University of Iowa men’s gymnastics team placed fourth at the 40th annual Windy City Invitational Saturday, hosted by the University of Illinois-Chicago. The Hawkeyes scored a team total of 339.600, while Big Ten foe Illinois won the meet with 353.750 total team points.

The Windy City Invitational opened the spring season for the Hawkeye squad. Jon Buese led the Hawkeyes placing seventh in the all-around (84.500), sixth on parallel bars (14.400) and seventh on vault (15.600). Mike Jiang placed sixth on pommel horse (14.300) and freshman Anton Gryshayev had a great first meet as a Hawkeye, placing fifth on rings (14.800).

Iowa will return to competition at home hosting Oklahoma on Saturday January 23 at 2 p.m. at the UI Fieldhouse.

Final Team Scores 1   Illinois            353.7502   Michigan            351.3503   Ohio State          347.1504   Iowa            339.6005   Minnesota           337.6506   UIC             328.750
Individual Results: All-Around (winner plus Iowa)1. Paul Ruggeri (Illinois) 88.6007. Jonathan Buese (IOWA) 84.500
Floor (winner plus Iowa)1. Chad Wiest (Illinois) 15.650T10. Reid Urbain (IOWA) 14.450T13. Ben Ketelsen (IOWA) 14.400T19. Matt McGrath (IOWA) 13.90022. Jonathan Buese (IOWA) 13.60026. John Haines (IOWA) 13.35027. Anton Gryshayev (IOWA) 13.150
Pommel Horse (winner plus Iowa)1. Daniel Ribeiro (Illinois) 15.3006. Mike Jiang (IOWA) 14.300T11. Jonathan Buese (IOWA) 13.75021. Ben Ketelsen (IOWA) 13.000T30. Zach Cazabon (IOWA) 12.30033. Anton Gryshayev (IOWA) 11.60037. Danny Kuklinski (IOWA) 11.450
Rings (winner plus Iowa)1. Brandon Wynn (Ohio State) 16.1005. Anton Gryshayev (IOWA) 14.800T11. Reid Urbain (IOWA) 14.450T17. Broderick Shemansky (IOWA) 14.150T20. John Haines (IOWA) 14.050T23. Matt McGrath (IOWA) 14.00032. Jonathan Buese (IOWA) 13.000
Vault (winner plus Iowa)1. Yoshi Mori (Illinois) 15.9007. Jonathan Buese (IOWA) 15.600T10. Matt McGrath (IOWA) 15.400T12. Ben Ketelsen (IOWA) 15.35027. John Haines (IOWA) 14.80029. Adam Wilson (IOWA) 14.650T32. Danny Kuklinski (IOWA) 14.450
Parallel Bars (winner plus Iowa)1. Craig Padera Jr. (Illinois) 14.8506. Jonathan Buese (IOWA) 14.400T14. Mike Jiang (IOWA) 14.000T19. Danny Kuklinski (IOWA) 13.850T25. Matt McGrath (IOWA) 13.50032. Ben Ketelsen (IOWA) 12.00034. Zach Cazabon (IOWA) 11.100
Horizontal Bar (winner plus Iowa)1. Paul Ruggeri (Illinois) 15.60012. Jonathan Buese (IOWA) 14.15013. Broderick Shemansky (IOWA) 13.90014. Ben Ketelsen (IOWA) 13.800T15. Zach Cazabon (IOWA) 13.700T22. Anton Gryshayev (IOWA) 13.40031. Mike Jiang (IOWA) 12.600
=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""text-align: center">