NCAA Qualifier Begins Today

March 12, 2010

CORPUS CHRISTI, TX – The University of Iowa diving team begins competition today at the NCAA Diving Zone Qualifier on the campus of Texas A&M. Divers from both the men’s and women’s teams will vie for a coveted berth to the NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships.

Texas A&M will host the 2010 Zone D Diving Regional Friday through Sunday at the Student Recreation Natatorium. Diving gets started at the Rec at 11 a.m. each day. The women’s one-meter (11 a.m. prelim/1 p.m. final) and men’s three-meter (3 p.m. prelim/5 p.m. final) will be contested on Friday; the men’s one-meter (11 a.m. prelim/1 p.m. final) and women’s three-meter (3 p.m. prelim/5 p.m. final) on Saturday, and the men’s and women’s platform events will be contested on Sunday (11 a.m. prelim/1 p.m. final). Live results will be available on

Over 60 divers from 18 different schools will compete at the Zone D Regional, one of five regionals across the country that will determine the diving field at the NCAA Championships.

The Zone D Regional will send a total of 20 divers — eight men and 12 women — to the NCAA Championships, which is the most of all five zone meets. The NCAA Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships will be contested in West Lafayette, Ind., March 18-20, while the men’s meet is March 25-27 in Columbus, Ohio.

The meet will host divers from the states of Texas (Texas A&M, Texas, TCU, SMU and Houston), Louisiana (LSU and New Orleans), Wisconsin (Wisconsin, UW-Green Bay and UW-Milwaukee), Iowa (Iowa State, Iowa and Northern Iowa), Missouri (Missouri and Missouri State), Minnesota (Minnesota), Arkansas (Arkansas) and Kansas (Kansas).