Alexander Chosen As WBCA All-American

April 3, 2010

IOWA CITY – Junior Kachine Alexander was honored Saturday as a State Farm Coaches all-America Team honorable mention selection, presented by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA). Alexander was one of 40 NCAA Division I women’s basketball student-athletes chosen to the State Farm Coaches all-America teams.

Alexander is just the fifth player in Iowa school history to earn multiple all-America honors in the same season. Last week, Alexander was chosen as an Associated Press honorable mention all-American. Michelle Edwards (1988) Franthea Price (1990) and Toni Foster (1993) were all consensus first team all-Americans, while Cara Consuegra was named to both the Associated Press and Kodak honorable mention all-America teams.

The Minneapolis, MN, native is the 11th Hawkeye to earn WBCA honorable mention all-America accolades, and is the fourth student-athlete under Head Coach Lisa Bluder to receive the award (Cara Consuegra – 2001, Jennie Lillis – 2003, Crystal Smith – 2006). Bluder and her staff have now led four student-athletes to a total of six all-America awards.

In addition to her all-America honors, Alexander was a WBCA all-region pick, a first team all-Big Ten selection and was also one of five players named to the Big Ten all-Defensive team this season. She led the Hawkeyes with 16 points and 10.4 rebounds per contest. The Minneapolis, MN, native claimed the Big Ten rebounding title, averaging 11.1 boards per game in league games. She is one of only two guards in the country to average a double-double, and ranks 22nd nationally in rebounding.

Alexander finished the season with 15 double-doubles, which was one shy of tying the school record for single-season double-doubles held by Amy Herrig. She became Iowa’s all-time leading rebounder among juniors this season, and finished with 281 boards.

Four Big Ten student-athletes were selected to the State Farm Coaches all-America teams. Ohio State’s Jantel Lavender was one of 10 student-athletes chosen to the first team, while Ohio State’s Samantha Prahalis and Illinois’ Jenna Smith joined Alexander on the honorable mention squad.