Women's Basketball Schedule For 2010-11 Announced

Aug. 27, 2010

Complete Schedule in PDF Format

IOWA CITY, IA – The University of Iowa women’s basketball schedule for 2010-11 was released today. The Hawkeyes will play 29 games, including 14 regular season games and one exhibition inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

Iowa’s schedule features 14 opponents who participated in postseason play last year (eight NCAA teams, five WNIT teams and one WBI team). The Hawkeyes will take on five 2010 NCAA Tournament teams before conference play.

Included on the schedule are nine games to be broadcast live nationally on the Big Ten Network, CBS or ESPN2. Iowa games vs. Michigan (Jan. 2), at Michigan State (Jan. 13), vs. Indiana (Jan. 16), at Purdue (Feb. 3), vs. Minnesota (Feb. 10), vs. Illinois (Feb. 24) and at Indiana (Feb. 27) will be aired on the Big Ten Network. Both of Iowa’s matchups against conference foe Ohio State will be televised nationally, with the Jan. 8 date in Iowa City being aired on CBS and the game in Columbus Jan. 24 will be on ESPN2.

Additional games are likely to be selected for broadcast by the Big Ten Network, BigTenNetwork.com, KCRG or other television partners in the near future. Start times for Iowa’s non-conference games will be released at a later date, along with the additional television schedule.

“We are very excited about our schedule for this season,” Head Coach Lisa Bluder said. “We have a challenging non-conference schedule which will help us down the road in Big Ten games. The team is really looking forward to getting back out on the court and playing in front of our great fans.”

The Hawkeyes are scheduled to play every Big Ten opponent twice, with the exception of Northwestern and Michigan. Iowa will travel to Evanston for its only matchup with the Wildcats Feb. 13, while Michigan comes to Iowa City Jan. 2.

Before the regular season tips off, Iowa will host Concordia University (MN) in an exhibition Nov. 17. The Hawkeyes officially open the 2010-11 season on the road at the Islander Tip-Off Tournament, hosted by Texas A&M Corpus Christi. Iowa’s first game is Nov. 12 vs. Southern University, while Texas A&M Corpus Christi will play Arkansas State. The two winning teams and two losing teams will play Nov. 13.

The Hawkeyes play their first game inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena Nov. 16 when they host Bradley.

Iowa will host the annual Hawkeye Challenge Nov. 20-21, welcoming Northern Colorado, Northeastern and Central Michigan to Iowa City. The Hawkeyes will play Northeastern in the first round Nov. 20, with the third place and championship games scheduled for Nov. 21.

Thanksgiving will be a little tropical for the Hawkeyes as they head to Cancun for the Caribbean Challenge Nov. 25 and 26. Opponents for the Caribbean Challenge have not yet been released.

The Hawkeyes return to the States for a matchup in Chapel Hill against North Carolina Dec. 2 as a part of the ACC/Big Ten Challenge. Iowa will host Kansas State Dec. 5 in the newly formed Big Ten/Big 12 Challenge.

The first intra-state rivalry game of the season is slated for Dec. 9, when Iowa State comes to Iowa City for the Hy-Vee Cy-Hawk Series. Iowa then heads northwest Dec. 18 for a game against South Dakota State, before heading to Des Moines for a game against Drake Dec. 20. Iowa wraps up non-conference play at home against Northern Iowa Dec. 22.

Big Ten play gets underway Dec. 30 when the Hawkeyes travel to Penn State. Iowa hosts Michigan (Jan. 2), travels to Minnesota (Jan. 5), hosts Ohio State (Jan. 8), heads to Michigan State (Jan. 13) and entertains Indiana (Jan. 16) before its first “bye week” (Jan. 20).

The Big Ten schedule resumes Jan. 24 with a matchup at Ohio State. The Hawkeyes host Michigan State (Jan. 27), travel to Illinois (Jan. 30) and Purdue (Feb. 3) before hosting two-straight home games against Penn State (Feb. 6) and Minnesota (Feb. 10).

Iowa has dates at Northwestern (Feb. 13) and at home vs. Wisconsin (Feb. 16) before its second and final “bye week” of the season (Feb. 20). Iowa’s regular season home finale is against Illinois (Feb. 24) and the final game of the regular season is at Indiana (Feb. 27).

The Big Ten Tournament will once again be held at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, March 3-6.