35 Former Hawkeyes Open Season On NFL Rosters

Sept. 14, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – – The University of Iowa football team placed 33 former players on NFL rosters as teams were required to trim their roster to 53 active players last week, prior to the start of the 2010 season. Six players from Iowa’s 2009 squad made opening day rosters.

Hawkeye squads typically are very solid in the trenches. No surprise that the positions best represented in the NFL are defensive line (9 players) and offensive line (6 players). Four former Hawkeye tight ends also found NFL rosters.

Kansas City Chief Casey Wiegmann is the longest-tenured former Hawkeye. He is in his 14th year. Wiegmann teamed up with fellow teammate and rookie Tony Moeaki to help the Chiefs down the San Diego Chargers on Monday Night Football. Moeaki’s first NFL reception resulted in his first career touchdown. He recorded three receptions for 21 yards to lead the Chiefs in receiving.

Dallas Clark

Colin Cole, who helped lead Iowa to the 2003 Orange Bowl, recorded four tackles to help lead the Seahawks to a 31-6 win over San Francisco. Bradley Fletcher, a starting cornerback for the St. Louis Rams, notched five tackles against Arizona. Defensive lineman Kenny Iwebema recorded one tackle for the Cardinals.

Charles Godfrey, a starting safety for the Carolina Panthers, is tied for the league lead with two interceptions after week one. The former Black and Gold standout also tallied six stops against the New York Giants.

All-pro Aaron Kampman, a defensive lineman for the Jacksonville Jaguars, is one of the league leaders in sacks after recording 1.5 sacks during a week one victory. Sean Considine, a starting safety on the Jaguars, notched six tackles in the win.

Dallas Clark, the leading receiver among NFL tight ends last season and a 2009 Pro Bowl starter, started strong again in 2010. Clark recorded 11 receptions for 80 yards and a touchdown in week one. In addition, Matt Roth notched three tackles for the Cleveland Browns. Clark plays for Head Coach Jim Caldwell. Caldwell, who lettered at Iowa from 1973-76, is the only former Hawkeye to hold a head coaching position in the league.

Two former Hawkeyes, Albert Young and Chad Greenway, stood out for the Vikings last Thursday on opening night. Young, a running back, had three carries and two receptions, and Greenway, a starting linebacker, led the Vikings with 12 tackles. He has led Minnesota in tackles the last two seasons.

Special teams, another standout area under Head Coach Kirk Ferentz, were also well represented in the NFL over the weekend. Jason Baker punted four times for Carolina for an average of 36.5. He had a long of 48. All-pro Nate Kaeding of the San Diego Chargers did not attempt a field goal in week one, but was 2-2 in PATs.

Player Pos. Current Team NFL Service
Pat Angerer LB Indianapolis Colts 1st year
Jonathan Babineaux DL Atlanta Falcons 5 years
Jason Baker P Carolina Panthers 9 years
Rob Bruggeman OL Atlanta Falcons 1 year
Bryan Bulaga OL Green Bay Packers 1st year
Scott Chandler TE Dallas Cowboys 3 years
Dallas Clark TE Indianapolis Colts 7 years
Colin Cole DL Seattle Seahawks 7 years
Sean Considine DB Jacksonville Jaguars 5 years
Jared DeVries DL Detroit Lions 11 years
A.J. Edds OLB Miami Dolphins 1st year
Bradley Fletcher DB St. Louis Rams 1 year
Robert Gallery OL Oakland Raiders 6 years
Charles Godfrey DB Carolina Panthers 2 years
Shonn Greene RB New York Jets 1 year
Chad Greenway LB Minnesota Vikings 4 years
Ken Iwebema DL Arizona Cardinals 2 years
Nate Kaeding PK San Diego Chargers 6 years
Aaron Kampman DL Jacksonville Jaguars 8 years
Mitch King DL Indianapolis Colts 1 year
Matt Kroul DL New York Jets 1 year
Bryan Mattison DL Baltimore Ravens 2 years
Tony Moeaki TE Kansas City Chiefs 1st year
Brandon Myers TE Oakland Raiders 1 year
Seth Olsen OL Minnesota Vikings 1 year
Marcus Paschal DB Baltimore Ravens 3 years
Derreck Robinson DL Cleveland Browns 5 years
Matt Roth DE Cleveland Browns 5 years
Bob Sanders DB Indianapolis Colts 6 years
Amari Spievey DB Detroit Lions 1st year
Eric Steinbach OL Cleveland Browns 7 years
Trey Stross WR Houston Texans 1st year
Casey Wiegmann OL Kansas City Chiefs 14 years
Marshal Yanda OL Baltimore Ravens 3 years
Albert Young RB Minnesota Vikings 2 years