Hawkeyes Open Fall Season At Purdue

Sept. 17, 2010

WEST LAFAYETTE, IN. — The University of Iowa men’s tennis team opened their fall season at the Purdue Fall Invitational. Head coach Steve Houghton and the Hawkeyes went 4-4 in singles matches and 2-2 in doubles play to begin the year.

Iowa was up against a competitive field including Arkansas, Case Western, DePaul, Dayton, Morehead State, Notre Dame, Southern Illinois, UW-Green Bay, Valparaiso, Vincennes, and Western Michigan.

Iowa’s No. 1 singles player in junior Marc Bruche led the Hawkeyes in their first action of the fall season, as Bruche picked up a singles and doubles victory. Bruche defeated Case Western’s Kyle Gerber 6-1, 6-4 in singles play. In doubles, Bruche teamed up with senior Nikita Zotov to knock off Vincennes’ Patrick Clynes/Jami Clark by an 8-3 count.

Freshman Joey White also provided Iowa with a singles win, claiming a 7-5, 6-0 victory against Vincennes’ Tyler Bridges. Fellow classmate Jonas Dierckx picked up a win in his first match as well. Dierckz beat Valparaiso’s Adam Whitmer 6-0, 6-3 to pace Iowa. Michael Swank picked up a win for Iowa as well, defeating Dayton’s Phil Dresden 6-0, 6-3.

The Hawkeyes also picked up another victory in doubles action from junior Will Vasos and senior Austen Kauss. The duo defeated Notre Dame’s Michael Moore/Ryan Bandy 9-7.

The Hawkeyes will continue competition at the Purdue Fall Invitational Saturday. Action starts at 8:00 a.m.

Singles (Purdue Fall Invite)

Anderson (Notre Dame) def. Nikita Zotov (Iowa) 6-3, 6-4
Fabik (SIU) def. Will Vasos (Iowa) 7-6 (3), 1-6 (10-4)
Hambach (DePaul) def. Austen Kauss (Iowa) 6-1, 6-3
Marc Bruche (Iowa) def. Gerber (Case) 6-1, 6-4
Ward (Ark) def. Jeroen Gortworst (Iowa) 6-0, 6-4
Joey White (Iowa) def. Bridges (Vin) 7-5, 6-0
Jonas Dierckx (Iowa) def. Whitmer (Valpo) 6-0, 6-3
Michael Swank (Iowa) def. Dresden (Dayton) 6-0, 6-3

Doubles (Purdue Fall Invite)

Bruche/Zotov (Iowa) def. Clynes/Clark (Vin) 8-3
Heuer/Manasse (Pur) def. Dierckx/White (Iowa) 8-1
Vasos/Kauss (Iowa) def. Moore/Bandy (ND) 9-7
Mehta/Woodson (Valpo) def. Gortworst/Swank (Iowa) 8-1