Stanzi Named O'Brien Semi-Finalist

Oct. 25, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa senior quarterback Ricky Stanzi has been named a semi-finalist for the 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. The announcement was made today by the Davey O’Brien Foundation in Fort Worth, TX.

Stanzi made the semi-final list of 16 after an original list of 120 collegiate signal callers. The online Fan Vote accounted for five percent of the total vote, while the O’Brien selection committee accounting for the remainder of the votes. It’s the second straight year Stanzi has made the semi-finals of the O’Brien Award. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Stanzi is a 6-4, 230-pound senior from Mentor, O. In Iowa’s seven games he has completed 124-182 attempts for 1,732 yards and 16 touchdowns, with two interceptions. He leads the Big Ten and is second in the nation in pass efficiency. Stanzi is also one of 15 quarterback candidates remaining on the Watch List for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award for the top senior quarterback in the nation.

The O’Brien list highlights seven juniors, five sophomores, three seniors and one freshman. The Big Ten and Big 12 lead all conferences with four candidates. The Pac-10 is represented by three players. Joining Stanzi as return semi-finalists are Matt Barkley (So., USC) and Kellen Moore (Jr., Boise State).

The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 22. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9 and will be honored at the 34th Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 21, 2011 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2010 Davey O’Brien Semifinalists

Matt Barkley SO USC Pac-10
Kirk Cousins JR Mich. State Big Ten
Andy Dalton SR TCU MWC
Blaine Gabbert JR Missouri Big 12
Robert Griffin III SO Baylor Big 12
Landry Jones SO Oklahoma Big 12
Colin Kaepernick SR Nevada WAC
Andrew Luck JR Stanford Pac-10
Ryan Mallett JR Arkansas SEC
Taylor Martinez FR Nebraska Big 12
Kellen Moore JR Boise State WAC
Cam Newton JR Auburn SEC
Terrelle Pryor JR Ohio State Big Ten
Denard Robinson SO Michigan Big Ten
Ricky Stanzi SR Iowa Big Ten
Darron Thomas SO Oregon Pac-10