Clayborn Named Finalist For Hendricks Award

Nov. 30, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – – University of Iowa senior defensive end Adrian Clayborn is one of six finalists for the 2010 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award. The announcement was made Tuesday by the Ted Hendricks Foundation. The award winner will be announced on Dec. 8 and will be honored at the Hendricks Award Dinner this spring in Miami, FL.

Clayborn, earlier this week, was named to the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) All-America team. He was named first team all-Big Ten by both league coaches and media for the second straight season. Clayborn is one of four finalists for the 2010 Rotary Lombardi Award, which will be announced Dec. 8 in Houston, Texas.

Clayborn totaled 51 tackles during his senior campaign, including seven for a loss of 42 yards. He had 3.5 sacks and forced a fumble. He started 29 consecutive games and 36 during his Hawkeye career. Clayborn is the first Hawkeye to be named a finalist for the Ted Hendricks Award.

Joining Clayborn as finalists for the Ted Hendricks Award are Da’Quan Bowers of Clemson, Ryan Kerrigan of Purdue, Von Miller of Texas A&M, Jabaal Sheard of Pittsburgh and J.J. Watt of Wisconsin.