Hawkeyes Hold Team Banquet

Dec. 17, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa women’s soccer team held its annual team banquet last weekend, honoring letterwinners and individuals that led the team throughout the season. The Hawkeyes honored 11 individuals with 14 awards.

Senior co-captain Jenna Aleo was named the team’s Defensive Player of the Year as well as the Most Valuable Player. Sophomore Dana Dalrymple was recognized as Iowa’s Offensive Player of the Year and freshman Alex Melin was awarded Newcomer of the Year. Junior Sarah Langlas was given the Hawk Award.

Head Coach Ron Rainey and the 2010 squad also honored the 10 student-athletes that were named academic All-Big Ten. Seniors Aleo, Kali Feiereisel, Stephanie Swanson and Amanda Martin, juniors Langlas and Gabrielle Tinner and sophomores Dalrymple, Stefani Campbell, Jade Grimm and Kat Lewis all earned the distinction.