Clayborn Recognized as Consensus All-American

Dec. 20, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – – University of Iowa senior defensive end Adrian Clayborn today was recognized as a Consensus All-American by the NCAA.

Clayborn, who was a finalist for the Ted Hendricks and Rotary Lombardi awards, becomes Iowa’s 21st consensus All-American. Iowa’s last consensus All-American was running back Shonn Greene (2008). Furthermore, Clayborn becomes Iowa’s first defensive end to be tabbed a Consensus All-American since Leroy Smith (1991).

Clayborn was named to the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) and Walter Camp All-America teams. He was also recognized as an honorable mention All-American by Pro Football Weekly. The St. Louis, Mo., native was also named first team all-Big Ten by both league coaches and media for the second straight season.

Clayborn, who is a permanent team captain, totaled 51 tackles during his senior campaign, including seven for a loss of 42 yards. He had 3.5 sacks and forced a fumble. He started 29 consecutive games and 36 during his Hawkeye career.

The players listed were listed on the most first team All-America teams competing against players at that position only. Ten players were unanimous choices by the five organizations used in the consensus chart — American Football Coaches Association, Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America, The Sporting News and Walter Camp Foundation. Note: Each of the five teams has a different way of listing the returner or all-purpose player. For the purpose of the Consensus All-America team those categories were treated as one position.

WR–*Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma St., 6-1, 205, Sophomore
WR–Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma, 5-11, 183, Junior
TE–Lance Kendricks, Wisconsin, 6-4, 241, Senior
TE–Michael Egnew, Missouri, 6-6, 235, Junior
OL–*Rodney Hudson, Florida St., 6-2, 282, Senior
OL–*Gabe Carimi, Wisconsin, 6-7, 327, Senior
OL–Nate Solder, Colorado, 6-9, 315, Senior
OL–Lee Ziemba, Auburn, 6-8, 319, Senior
C–Chase Beeler, Stanford, 6-3, 285, Senior
QB–Cam Newton, Auburn, 6-6, 250, Junior
RB–*LaMichael James, Oregon, 5-9, 185, Sophomore
RB–Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma St., 5-8, 200, Senior
PK–Josh Jasper, LSU, 5-11, 171, Senior
Returner/All-Purpose– Cliff Harris, Oregon, 5-11, 180, Sophomore
Returner/All-Purpose — Eric Page, Toledo, 5-10, 180, Sophomore

DL–*Da’Quan Bowers, Clemson, 6-4, 275, Junior
DL–*Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue, 6-4, 263, Senior
DL–Nick Fairley, Auburn, 6-5, 298, Junior
DL–Stephen Paea, Oregon St., 6-1, 311, Senior
DL–Adrian Clayborn, Iowa, 6-4, 285, Senior
LB–*Greg Jones, Michigan St., 6-1, 240, Senior
LB–*Luke Kuechly, Boston College, 6-3, 235, Sophomore
LB–Von Miller, Texas A&M, 6-3, 243, Senior
DB–*Patrick Peterson, LSU, 6-1, 222, Junior
DB–*Prince Amukamara, Nebraska, 6-1, 205, Senior
DB–Quinton Carter, Oklahoma, 6-1, 200, Senior
DB–Tejay Johnson, TCU, 6-1, 212, Senior
P–Chas Henry, Florida 6-3, 215, Senior

* Indicates unanimous first team selection; Bold indicates consensus repeater from 2009