3 GymHawks Selected to All-Conference Teams

March 18, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa women’s gymnastics team is in Minneapolis for the 2011 Big Ten Championship. Conference action began with a championship banquet, Friday evening, where All-Big Ten teams were announced. With 20 student-athletes being chosen through a vote by the conference’s coaches, three GymHawks were honored.

Senior Rebecca Simbhudas earned a spot on the all-conference first team for the second time in her career. As a returning All-American on beam, Simbhudas has won nine all-around titles this season, including an incredible seven straight. Junior Jessa Hansen was also selected as a first team honoree. The Clive, Iowa, native picked up the honor after her second-team selection in 2010. Both Simbhudas (No. 10) and Hansen (No. 23) are ranked among the top-25 all-around competitors in the nation.

Senior Houry Gebeshian earned a spot on the all-conference second team for a second-consecutive year. Gebeshian, the returning Big Ten Champion on beam, is currently ranked as the third best conference performer on uneven bars.

Gebeshian and the No. 14 Hawkeyes will compete for a Big Ten title beginning at 2 p.m. Saturday, March 19. Action will be held in Minnesota’s Sports Pavilion in Minneapolis. Fans can follow the action live from the Iowa women’s gymnastics live blog found at hawkeyesports.com.