Leadership Group Named For 2011

April 22, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Fourteen University of Iowa football players have been named to the team’s 2011 Hawkeye Leadership Group. Head Coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group Friday following a vote by members of each individual class.

The purpose of the group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season.

“The players elected to the Leadership Group for next fall are a great representation of each class,” said Ferentz. “The voting by the squad, as has always been the case, provides a strong group of players to represent the entire team. I have every confidence that this group will work well with the members of the coaching staff in shaping policies and making decisions regarding team policies, goals and other things that affect our player’s experiences. The input provided by this group is very important to all of us involved with Iowa football.”

The 2011 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

Broderick Binns – DE – Senior – St. Paul, Minn.
Greg Castillo – DB – Junior – Mt. Laurel, N.J.
Marcus Coker – RB – Sophomore – Beltsville, Md.
Mike Daniels – DL – Senior – Blackwood, N.J.
James Ferentz – OL – Junior – Iowa City, Iowa
Micah Hyde – DB – Junior – Fostoria, Ohio
Casey Kreiter – LS – Sophomore – DeWitt, Iowa
Marvin McNutt, Jr. – WR – Senior – St. Louis, Mo.
James Morris – LB – Sophomore – Solon, Iowa
Tyler Nielsen – LB – Senior – Humboldt, Iowa
Riley Reiff – OL – Junior – Parkston, S.D.
Brandon Scherff – OL – Redshirt Freshman – Denison, Iowa
James Vandenberg – QB – Junior – Keokuk, Iowa
Brett Van Sloten – OL – Sophomore – Decorah, Iowa