Printy Named to Wade Watch List

Aug. 23, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior guard Jaime Printy has been named to the 2011-12 preseason “Wade Watch” list for The State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year. Printy is one of 25 Division I student-athletes named to the list, announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA).

The list is made up of top NCAA Division I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade (three-time national champion coach at Delta State University) according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability. The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 35th year, is considered the “Heisman of Women’s Basketball.”

Printy became the youngest player in Iowa school history to be named an All-American, collecting honorable mention honors by the Associated Press last season as a sophomore. She is the only returning All-American in the Big Ten this season. The Marion, Iowa, native was also a second team All-Big Ten selection and was named Academic All-Big Ten.

Printy is the youngest player in Hawkeye women’s basketball history to score 1,000 career points, as she hit the milestone as a sophomore. She led the team with 16.8 points per game, 70 made three-pointers, a .383 three-point percentage and an .864 free throw percentage last season. Printy scored double figures in 27 of Iowa’s 31 games last year, including nine 20-point performances.

Penn State’s Alex Bentley was the only other player from the Big Ten selected to the list.

This is the second-straight season that a Hawkeye has appeared on the “Wade Watch” list. Kachine Alexander appeared on the preseason list last year.

The 2012 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Denver.

The complete “Wade Watch” List can be found below.

LaSondra Barrett – LSU – Forward – Senior
Alex Bentley – Penn State – Guard – Junior
Cierra Bravard – Florida State – Forward – Senior
Carolyn Davis – Kansas – Forward – Junior
Elena Delle Donne – Delaware – Forward – Junior
Skylar Diggins – Notre Dame – Guard – Junior
Jasmine Dixon – UCLA – Forward – Senior
Stefanie Dolson – Connecticut – Center – Junior
Brittney Griner – Baylor – Post – Junior
Keisha Hampton – DePaul – Forward – Senior
Bria Hartley – Connecticut – Guard – Junior
Tiffany Hayes – Connecticut – Guard – Senior
Glory Johnson – Tennessee – Forward – Senior
Shenise Johnson – Miami – Guard – Senior
Natalie Novosel – Notre Dame – Guard – Senior
Chiney Ogwumike – Stanford – Forward – Sophomore
Nneka Ogwumike – Stanford – Forward – Senior
Devereaux Peters – Notre Dame – Forward – Senior
Jaime Printy – Iowa – Guard – Junior
Monique Reid – Louisville – Forward – Senior
Sugar Rodgers – Georgetown – Guard – Junior
Odyssey Sims – Baylor – Guard – Sophomore
Shekinna Stricklen – Tennessee – Guard – Senior
Tyra White – Texas A&M – Guard – Senior
Riquna Williams – Miami – Guard – Senior