Stoughton Resets 500 Free School Record

Dec. 2, 2011

Complete Results

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa women’s swimming and diving team hosted the first day of the Hawkeye Invitational Friday night at the Campus recreation and Wellness Center Pool. The Hawkeyes are facing Denver, Michigan, Washington State, Wisconsin-Green Bay and Wisconsin-Milwaukee in swimming, while the divers are also facing Minnesota, Nebraska and South Dakota State. After one day of competition, Michigan leads with 295 and Iowa is currently in second with 169 points.

The Hawkeyes kicked off the first day of competition with the 200 free relay. The squad of Heather Arseth, Hannah Maher, Danielle Carty and Daniela Cubelic posted fifth place finish with a time of 1:33.91.

Becky Stoughton continued her season record setting fashion at the first day of competition. She recorded a new school, pool and meet record in the 500 free with her time of 4:43.79. Stoughton broke her previous school record of 4:47.18, which she set against Minnesota Nov. 4.

Following the 500 free, Haley Gordon posted a fifth place finish in the 200 IM with a time of 2:03.36. Her time was a season best and was just off her personal best time of 2:03.05. Arseth recorded a personal best time in the 50 free with a time of 23.51. Carty also competed in the 50 free and placed 17th overall with a personal best time of 23.26.

Hawkeye diver Veronica Rydze had a successful day on the one-meter springboard. In the preliminary round Rydze posted a score of 295.60, which placed her second going into the final round. During the final round, Rydze knocked out a personal best score of 3:08.95 to win the event. Lauren Kelba finished sixth over (261.35), while Joelle Christy placed eighth (233.50).

The Hawkeyes concluded the first day of competition with the 400 medley relay. The quartet of Cueblic, Karolina Wartalowicz, Abbey Tuchscherer and Stoughton posted a fourth place finish with a time of 3:45.19.

Iowa will continue competition tomorrow. Prelims will begin at 10 a.m. and finals are set to start at 6 p.m.