Belzer Sets Pool Record

Jan. 28, 2012

Complete Results

SOUTH BEND, Ind. — The 14th-ranked University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team concluded the final two sessions of the Shamrock Invitational Saturday at the Rolfs Aquatics Center. After three sessions of the competition, the Hawkeyes dominated Notre Dame 216-154.

Iowa started the second session of the invitational with first and second place finishes in the 200-medley relay. The squad of Dustin Rhoads, Andrew Marciniak, Byron Butler and Ryan Phelan finished first in a time of 1:30.33. Iowa’s `B’ squad of Grant Betulius, Korey Schneider, Paul Gordon and Jordan Huff came in second at 1:30.65.

Team co-captain, Kyle Noser posted an individual first place finish in the 400 IM. He posted a time of 4:00.30. Tyler Lentz finished fourth in the event in a time of 4:01.96.

The Hawkeyes next victory came in the 100 fly when Byron Butler touched the wall first in a time of 49.58. Mitch Taylor placed fifth in the event with a time of 50.98, while Betulius finished seventh (51.68).

Iowa placed seven swimmers in the top eight of the 200 free. Gordon finished the highest in second place with a time of 1:37.52, which marks an NCAA `B’ qualifying time. Huff came in third at 1:40.21, while Manuel Belzer (1:42.23) and Patrick Weigand (1:42.35) finished fourth and fifth. The Hawkeyes also took sixth, seventh and eighth place.

Rhoads, Betulius and Butler went first, second and third in the 100 back. Rhoads earned the top spot with a time of 49.07, while Betulius and Butler posted times of 49.08 and 50.20, respectively.

The Hawkeyes concluded the morning session with a victory in the 800-free relay. Huff, Belzer, Weigand and Gordon posted an NCAA `B’ qualifying time of 6:39.87 to win the event. Iowa’s `B’ relay finished second at 6:54.53.

Belzer kicked off the final session of the invitational with an individual first place finish in the 1,650 free. The Schornsheim, Germany native won the event in a time of 15:28.85, which broke a 17-year-old pool record and marked an NCAA `B’ qualifying time. Jorgensen of the University of Kansas set the previous record in 1995 (15:32.37).

After dominating the 100 back during the morning session, Butler, Betulius and Rhoads returned for the evening session and dominated the 200 back. Butler finished first in a time of 1:47.79, while Betulius (1:50.09) and Rhoads (1:50.36) finished second and third.

Gordon posted a second place finish in the 100 free with a time of 44.62. Huff placed third in the event (45.39), while Phelan finished fourth (45.64).

The Hawkeyes wrapped up the Shamrock Invitational with first and second place finishes in the 400-free relay. Gianni Sesto, Huff, Phelan and Gordon teamed up for a first place finish in an NCAA `B’ qualifying time of 2:58.35. Iowa’s `B’ squad touched the wall second in a time of 3:06.27.

Iowa’s divers competed on the three-meter springboard during the morning session. Osvel Molina won the event with a collegiate best score of 340.72. Arsen Sarkisian earned a score of 249.45 to place sixth.

The Hawkeyes return to action on Feb. 3 to host Western Illinois in the final dual meet of the season. The meet is set to start at 6 p.m. and will recognize Iowa’s senior class.