Hawkeyes Down Instate Rival UNI

Feb. 2, 2012

Complete Results

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa — The University of Iowa women’s swimming and diving team competed against the University of Northern Iowa Thursday night at the Glen F. Henry swimming pool inside the Wellness and Recreation Center. Iowa won 10 of 13 events and defeated the Panthers 127-114.

The Hawkeyes kicked off the dual meet with first and second place finishes in the 200-medley relay. The squad of Gigi Groya, Hannah Maher, Becky Stoughton and Heather Arseth won the event in a time of 1:46.86. Iowa’s `B’ squad took second place with a time of 1:51.51.

Iowa dominated the 200 free, finishing in the top-three spots. Elaine Boosalis won the event with collegiate best time of 1:56.42. Aiste Dobrovolskaite and Emily Christiansen finished second and third with times of 1:57.37 and 1:57.68, respectively.

Following the 200 free, the Hawkeyes collected first, second and third place finishes in the 50 free. Big Ten Freshman Swimmer of the Week, Stoughton, swam the event for the first time this season and won in a time of 24.06. Maher took second place (24.72), while Dani Klunk finished third (25.03).

Haley Gordon and Audrey Kumm finished first and second in the 200 IM with times of 2:10.68 and 2:11.12, respectively. In the next event, Lauren Drennan posted a first place finish in the 100 fly with a time of 58.26.

Iowa went on to win the last four individual events of the night. Klunk touched the wall first in the 100 free at 53.25. Arseth posted the top time in 100 back (58.79), while Christiansen won the 500 free (5:08.33) and Maher finished first in the 100 breast (1:06.88).

Amanda Kocovsky represented the Hawkeye divers at the competition. She earned collegiate best scores on both springboards. Kocovsky first competed on the one-meter springboard and placed third with a score of 226.72. She went to also place third on the three-meter with a score of 183.15.

The Hawkeyes concluded the meet with a victory in the 200-free relay. The quartet of Groya, Klunk, Christiansen and Arseth won the event in a time of 1:37.68.

Iowa returns to action tomorrow night (Feb.3) when it hosts Western Illinois at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center. The meet is set to start at 6 p.m. and will recognize the senior class.