Hawkeyes Conclude NCAA Zone D Diving Championships

March 10, 2012

Men’s & Women’s Platform – Final Results

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Sophomore Osvel Molina finished seventh in the men’s platform to close out the 2012 NCAA Zone D Diving Championships, which were being held at the University of Iowa’s Campus Recreation and Wellness Center pool.

Molina finished seventh in the 15 diver field with a total of 632.35 points. Sophomore Arsen Sarkisian narrowly missed advancing to the finals, finishing 13th with 256.75 points.

Sophomore Lauren Kelba was the lone Iowa female diver competing in the platform event. She finished 24th with a five-dive total of 194.10 points.

UI senior Veronica Rydze moved through the NCAA Zone D Championships, earning one of the 12 spots from the zone to advance to the NCAA Championships. She is one of two Hawkeyes to qualify for the NCAA Championships along with freshman swimmer Becky Stoughton.

The NCAA Championships will be held on March 22-24 in Federal Way, Wash.

NCAA Zone D Championships – Men’s Qualifiers
Matthew Cooper (Texas)
Grant Nel (Texas A&M)
Hayden Jones (Texas A&M)
Drew Livingston (Texas)
David Bonuchi (Missouri)
Kristoffer Jorgensen (Minnesota)
Michael Ross (Minnesota)
Daniel Helm (LSU)
Devin Burnett (SMU)

NCAA Zone D Championships – Women’s Qualifiers
Sarah Mccrady (Minnesota)
Jaele Patrick (Texas A&M)
Janie Potvin (Texas A&M)
Jordan Morcom (Missouri)
Margaret Keefer (Minnesota)
Julia Lonnegren (Houston)
Alexandra Bettridge (LSU)
Veronica Rydze (Iowa)
Christina Gailey (Missouri)
Rebecca St. Germain (Texas A&M)
Shelby Cullinan (Texas)
Diana Wilcox (Texas)