Stoughton Named MVP

April 16, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa women’s swimming and diving team celebrated the end of the season at the team’s award banquet on Saturday, April 14. Swimmers, divers, alumni, parents and supporters recognized the 2011-12 team at the Coralville Marriot.

Freshman Becky Stoughton was named Most Valuable Player for the women’s squad. The Big Ten Freshman of the Year holds the school record in the 200 (1:47.09), 500 (4:40.82), 1,000 (9:39.44) and 1,650-free (16:03.42). She earned honorable mention All-America honors after placing ninth in the 1,650-free (16:30.42) at the NCAA Championships. Her time of 16:03.42 ranks ninth all-time on the Big Ten top performers list. Stoughton was the first Hawkeye swimmer to qualify for the NCAAs since Jennifer Skolaski swam in three events in 2005, and she is the first Iowa freshman to qualify since Skolaski in 2002.

Senior Veronica Rydze earned the Nancilea Underwood Women’s Diving MVP award for the second straight season. The Iowa City, Iowa, native led the team in the one (325.28) and three-meter (346.10). She earned her second berth to the NCAA Championships after qualifying in the one-meter springboard. Her best score in the one (325.28) and three-meter (358.45) rank third on Iowa’s all-time top performers list.

Sophomore Abbey Tuchscherer went home with two awards. The Alison Pennington/Strength of Character Award, which is presented to the women’s team member who exemplifies the qualities of integrity, authenticity, dedication, work ethic, perseverance, loyalty, encouragement and leadership and the Strength and Conditioning Achievement Award. Tuchscherer led the team in the 100 (54.67) and 200-fly (2:01.17). Her best times in the events rank second in school history.

The 2012-13 captains were also announced at banquet. April Allen, Tushscherer, Elaine Boosalis and Abby Grilli will lead next year’s Hawkeye squad.

2011-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving Awards
Women’s Swimming Team MVP: Becky Stoughton
Nancilea Underwood Women’s Diving MVP: Veronica Rydze
Alison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award: Abbey Tuchscherer
Strength and Conditioning Award: Abbey Tuchscherer