Hawkeyes Set to Open Season

Oct. 10, 2012

Complete Release in PDF Format

The University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team will host its annual Black and Gold Intrasquad meet Saturday at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center. The competition is set to begin at 11 a.m.

For live results from your computer or smart phone, visit: http://stats.iowaswimming.com/. Free WiFi is available at the CRWC for all students and faculty.

Fans can pick up 2012-13 swimming and diving posters, calendar cards, stickers and bumper stickers from the marketing table located in the pool gallery at the main entrance.

The men’s squad returns senior Jordan Huff and junior Gianni Sesto who earned All-America recognition last season. Huff earned honorable mention All-America honors as a part of the 400 and 800 freestyle relays, while Sesto was an honorable mention All-American in the 200, 400 and 800 free relays.

The Hawkeyes are coming off the 2011-12 season where they captured two relay titles and finished fifth at the Big Ten Championships, their highest finish in 16 years. Iowa won the relay titles in the 200 free (1:17.61) and 400 free (2:52.53) — the first Big Ten title since 1995.

Twelve Hawkeyes competed in the 2012 U.S Olympic Team Trials in Omaha, Neb. The men’s team returns 10 of these qualifiers — Grant Betulius, Byron Butler, Brian Donatelli, Jordan Huff, Tyler Lentz, Andrew Marciniak, Dustin Rhoads, Korey Schneider, Gianni Sesto and Mike Vinyard. Returnee Manuel Belzer qualified internationally. Belzer competed at the German Trials. Roman Trussov, a freshman, swam in the 100 and 200 breast for his native Kazakhstan.

Four student-athletes have been named to the 2012-13 captains’ council. The 2012-13 captains for the men’s squad include Jordan Huff, Byron Butler, Kyle Noser and Michael Vinyard, who were voted on by their peers and coaches.

While most programs cite family team atmospheres, it goes a little bit further for the University of Iowa swimming and diving team. Iowa has two sets of siblings on the 2012-13 roster. Former Hawkeye All-American Paul Gordon is serving as a student assistant coach, while his sister, Haley Gordon, and brother, Jack Gordon, are UI student-athletes. Iowa also has three Weigands on the current squad in senior Patrick Weigand along with sophomore Hillary Weigand and freshman Jennifer Weigand.

The men’s team welcomes 13 newcomers to the 2012-2013 roster in Jackson Allen, Matt Boyd, David Ernstsson, Charles Holliday, Maverick Hovey, Seth Lane, Mike Nelson, Tyler Nichols, Quillan Oak, Andrew Parker, Luke Snow, Roman Trussov, and Michael Ubert. The class was ranked 15th nationally by collegeswimming.com.

Three members from the 2011-2012 men’s team were honorable mention Scholar All-Americans including returnees Byron Butler and Manuel Belzer and graduate Kyle Noser. The Scholar All-America award is presented to swimmers and divers who have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher during the semester or as their cumulative average, and those who have qualified for their respective national championship.

Marc Long is in his ninth season as head coach for the University of Iowa swimming team. It’s his eighth as head coach of the combined program. During his tenure as head coach of both programs, 54 school records have fallen and 93 Hawkeyes have provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Todd Waikel is in his first season as diving coach for the Hawkeyes. Waikel replaces long time UI diving coach Bob Rydze after serving as the assistant diving coach at Indiana for seven years. Kristy Brager joins program as an assistant coach, after coaching two seasons at George Mason University. She helped lead the men’s team to a pair of runner-up finishes in the Colonial Athletic Association.

Ground was broken for the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in October 2007. The facility opened in August 2010 and is home for the Hawkeyes. It is located at the corner of Burlington and Madison streets and cost approximately $69 million. The facility includes a 50-meter competition pool, a separate diving well, a leisure pool with lap lanes and 24,000 square feet of fitness space.

Iowa was one of the first schools in the nation to compete on a collegiate level and competed at the first NCAA Championship. From 1937 to 1960, Iowa placed in the NCAA top 10 18 times, crowning nine NCAA and 22 Big Ten champions.

Iowa opens the regular season Oct. 19 at Michigan State. The competition will begin at 3 p.m. in East Lansing, Mich.