Hawkeyes Compete at Head of the Rock

Oct. 14, 2012

ROCKFORD, Ill. – The University of Iowa women’s rowing team continued its fall season at the Head of the Rock on Sunday. In Sunday’s regatta, hosted by the YMCA of the Rock River Valley, rowers raced down the Rock River’s 2.75-mile stretch, starting at Martin Park and ending at the YMCA Log Lodge.

The Hawkeyes were scheduled to have three boats in the Varsity 8’s, four boats in the Varsity 4’s, and three boats in the Novice 8’s. Due to inclement weather conditions, numerous races were cancelled. Iowa was still able to compete in the collegiate 4 and novice 8 races.

“We are seeing some signs of progress,” head coach Steve Pritzker said. “Our varsity 8 was disappointed that they could not compete today because of the weather. We were looking forward to seeing how they stacked up against good competition.”

Iowa opened the event in the collegiate 4’s, with boat A finishing in third place out of 35 boats with a time of 18:42.921. Iowa’s boat C finished in 10th place with a time of 19:30.385. The Hawkeye D boat finished in 13th place with a time of 19:43.485, while the B boat crossed the finish line in 21:01.922 for a 22nd place finish.

The final race of the day for Iowa was the novice 8’s. Boat A finished in fourth place out of 19 boats with a time of 18:42.172. Iowa’s boat B finished in 10th place with a time of 20:15.032 and boat C finished in 15th place with a time of 21:38.156.

Iowa will conclude its fall season Sunday, Oct. 28, as it hosts the Head of the Iowa in Iowa City. Events will run from 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Along with the races, there will be numerous activities for families and fans at City Park.

“We are anxious to close the fall racing season at home,” Pritzker said. “It will be great to race in front of the Hawkeye fans.”

Iowa Lineups at Head of the Rock
N8 Bow #573Katie Brown, Mitts, Madeline Anglin, Victoria Mertens, Claire Benschoter, Lauren Subler, LeBlanc, Richards, Kristi Rasmussen
N8 Bow #574Charlotte Small, Katelyn Sobotka, Rafferty, Skylar McSorley, Laura Neuzil, Stecker, Emma Ramirez, Peters, Doll
N8 Bow #579 – Lyons, Ortiz, Silfe, Howe, Bubley, Deanna Arps, Hannah Rochford, Lauren Rice, Kavan