Printy Named Senior CLASS Award Finalist

Feb. 13, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior guard Jaime Printy is one of 10 NCAA Division I women’s basketball players to be named a finalist for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence — community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

“It speaks volumes because she’s done a great job in all of those categories,” said UI head coach Lisa Bluder. “Not only has she been a great four year player for us here, but an exceptional student. She does a great job in the classroom and as a community servant.”

Printy has excelled both on and off the court during her career. The Marion, Iowa, native is one of the most decorated players in Iowa history, earning Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors in 2010, Associated Press Honorable Mention All-America accolades as a sophomore and All-Big Ten recognition as a junior. She became the youngest player in school history to join the 1,000 point club and receive All-America honors.

Off the court, Printy has been named Capital One Academic All-District, is a member of the Dean’s List and is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. She is active in the eastern Iowa community, volunteering with numerous charities, organizations and local elementary schools.

Brittany Chambers (Kansas State), Layshia Clarendon (California), Elena Delle Donne (Delaware), Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame), Jacqui Kalin (Northern Iowa), Kevi Luper (Oral Roberts), Anna Martin (DePaul), Drey Mingo (Purdue), and Chelsea Poppins (Iowa State) join Printy as finalists for the award.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in October. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website or on the Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through March 25. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

The women’s Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the NCAA Women’s Final Four in New Orleans April 7 and 9.

For more information, visit